Thread: libpcre3 vs libpcre.so.3

Beans

libpcre3 vs libpcre.so.3

Hi folks,
    I'm a Linux newbie and I'm trying to install an application that requires a couple of libraries that my hosted Ubuntu VPS server doesn't seem to have installed - one being /lib/libpcre.so.3 (another is libcurl.so.4).

I've tried to use symlink to libpcre3 and libcurl3, respectively, but checking with the command 'ldd <the app>' from the app's folder shows the libraries as not found. Maybe these libraries are not compatible?

The VPS has a Plesk control panel with Virtuozzo and I can't find libpcre.so.3 or libcurl.so.4 in the installed or available packages to install.

Any ideas?
    Best,
    Keith..

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: libpcre3 vs libpcre.so.3

what about
    sudo apt-get install libpcre3 libpcre3-dev libcurl4 libcurl4-dev
    ?
    .:it's all about true or false, so be true to life:.
    linux community is the best
    ubuntu ftw <3

Beans

smo0th,
    Thanks for the response and sorry - I see that my question was unclear.

The server has libpcre and libcurl3 installed. I've tried to use symlinks to these instead of the required libpcre.so.3 and libcurl.so.4 libraries without success. I was hoping these were package updates but it seems they are incompatible.

Unfortunately, neither apt-get or my VPS Plesk/Virtunozzo package manager seem to have the required libraries available.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

probably your application needs the libraries for compiling, libpcre3 libpcre3-dev are different packages, are you sure you have installed the -dev versions?
    .:it's all about true or false, so be true to life:.
    linux community is the best
    ubuntu ftw <3

Beans

The normal and -dev versions are installed but I can only symlink to one or the other.