Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Foreign language showing up on Google page in Firefox

Beans

Foreign language showing up on Google page in Firefox

The past few days, when I do a Google search in FF, I get results with a foreign language as part of the results. This language can be seen on other areas of the page, as well. I found a link at the bottom of the page where you can set the page to English, but it reverts back. Is this a hijack or something?

Below is a copy/paste of the first result when I search for Ubuntu Forum. Note the foreign character in the summary. Thanks.

Ubuntu Forums

Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums, we encourage you to REGISTER on our forums and participate in the community. Ubuntu is a complete Linux-based operating system ...
    ubuntuforums.org/ - ᎠᏍᏆᏂᎪᏗ - ᎤᏠᏱ
    Search
    Absolute Beginner Talk
    Installation & Upgrades
    Networking & Wireless
    Development & Programming
    General Help
    Multimedia & Video
    Desktop Environments
    ᎤᎪᏗ ᏂᏚᎵᏍᏔᏅᎢ ubuntuforums.org »

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Foreign language showing up on Google page in Firefox

Beans

Re: Foreign language showing up on Google pages in Firefox

Re: Foreign language showing up on Google pages in Firefox. I have the same problem and my preferences are already set to English. I repeated that action and still have the problem. It's impossible to know what I'm clicking on. Help! (Thanks)

Beans

Yes, my preference is already set to English... Still getting the foreign language. I'm not even sure what the language is... It also keeps changing my location (in the left column) to Washington Heights, NY.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by Flipper628 View Post
    That doesn't look like a foreign language to me, rather a character set problem.

Edit > Preferences > Content > Fonts & Colors Advanced...