Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN issues on Maverick

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Question Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN issues on Maverick

Howdy all

I'm really new to all of this, so, if you guys have any suggestions on what other info I should give you, I would (and I think yo would too) appreciate it.
    I've installed Ubuntu 10.10 a week ago in my Acer Aspire 3680, and I immediately fell in love with it. The only really big/unsolvable problem I've come up with was the gorram wireless card, that wouldn't work at all. I've roamed the web a bit and found two possible solutions to my problem: NDIS Wrapped and MADWiFi.
    At first I tried MADWiFi, mainly because a friend recommended it, but I couldn't find a way of making it work on Maverick (50% of tutorials found were about Ubuntu 8 and 9, that wouldn't work, and the other 50% had broken links when I got to the "wget" part ).
    I proceeded to try NDIS Wrapped, but almost immediately I faced yet another problem: I had absolute no idea what .inf file I should have (and as I completely erased Windows from my HDD, I had no access to my old drivers), yet reaching another dead-end.
    So, I ask you, o mighty forumers, help this poor noob access wireless internet!

For your information, I have an Acer Aspire 3680-2992 notebook, with an Intel Celeron M processor 440, and the Mobile Intel 940 GML Express chipset. I've got a 512MB RAM, but it's a DDR2, so I plan changing it soon. Any other information you need, just give a shout (and if possible, inform me where I can find that information, because I'm a total zero at this) and I will reply as soon as possible.

Thank you! (Long thread, wasn't it?)

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN issues on Maverick

Quote Originally Posted by JoeLeeto View Post
    Howdy all