Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: HDPVR as generic input device

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    647

    Re: HDPVR as generic input device

    Turns out I had a defective unit. I sent it back and got a replacement.

    However, I am still having a problem.
    By the way /dev/videoHDPVR points to the HDPVR input which happens to change after I reboot sometimes, but the shortcut follows the change. Currently it is video0.

    Channel(/dev/videoHDPVR) Error: GetCurrentChannelNum(0): Failed to find Channel
    Channel(/dev/videoHDPVR)::TuneTo(0): Error, failed to find channel.
    TVRec(4) Error: Failed to set channel to 0. Reverting to kState_None
    TVRec(4): Changing from RecordingOnly to None

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Neither here nor there
    Beans
    3,290
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: HDPVR as generic input device

    Quote Originally Posted by davidstoll View Post
    It's easier to schedule it. Easier to use a remote. Easier to setup via mythweb.

    ...and you can make it time bound.

    I've used the cat command before, but it craps out after a few seconds on the HDPVR device.
    The cat command with the HDPVR works fine for me. Seems like you have it setup properly to do what you want. Is the channel 0 you created in the source that is connected to the HD-PVR Input?

    If you give up on this you can still schedule recordings with the cat command (assuming you get that to work) using the "at" command. Basic usage is in the man pages and the below thread has some examples:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=431793
    Linux & MythTV 4 Life
    Running ubuntu on an Atom 330, Atom D525, Turion 64 X2 TL-56, X2 3800, X2 4200, X2 4600, E2180, Core i5 450M, and a Core i7-2600
    My Hardware

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    647

    Re: HDPVR as generic input device

    Quote Originally Posted by newlinux View Post
    The cat command with the HDPVR works fine for me. Seems like you have it setup properly to do what you want. Is the channel 0 you created in the source that is connected to the HD-PVR Input?

    If you give up on this you can still schedule recordings with the cat command (assuming you get that to work) using the "at" command. Basic usage is in the man pages and the below thread has some examples:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=431793
    The cat command does work for me now (as it did a while back), but Hauppauge determined it was a faulty device and replaced it. I just got it back.

    So, any errors that I got before may have been related to a faulty unit. I'm starting over. Cat now works just fine.

    However, it must be that something is not quite set right for my input device. I set it up as stated above, but it still fails (see errors about two posts above this) for what I am getting now with the new unit.

    If I check my past or upcoming recordings it shows a manual record in red and has an "f" error code. Recorder failure.

    I tried via mythweb too.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    647

    Re: HDPVR as generic input device

    Backend error log.
    Not sure how to interpret.
    Can someone make a suggestion as to what to try next?

    from mythbackend.log

    Code:
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.613 ProgramInfo(): Updated pathname '':'' -> '10001_20101229134400.mpg'
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.694 TVRec(4): Changing from None to RecordingOnly
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.726 TVRec(4): HW Tuner: 4->4
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.792 Channel(/dev/video0) Error: GetCurrentChannelNum(0): Failed to find Channel
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.799 Channel(/dev/video0)::TuneTo(0): Error, failed to find channel.
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.807 TVRec(4) Error: Failed to set channel to 0. Reverting to kState_None
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.815 TVRec(4): Changing from RecordingOnly to None
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.832 ProgramInfo(): Updated pathname '':'' -> '10001_20101229134400.mpg'
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.850 AutoExpire: CalcParams(): Max required Free Space: 1.0 GB w/freq: 15 min
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.859 Canceled recording (Recorder Failed): test (Manual Record) "Wed Dec 29 13:45:00 2010": channel 10001 on cardid 4, sourceid 6
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.875 scheduler: Canceled recording (Recorder Failed): test (Manual Record) "Wed Dec 29 13:45:00 2010": channel 10001 on cardid 4, sourceid 6
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.891 ProgramInfo(): Updated pathname '':'' -> '10001_20101229134400.mpg'
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.907 ProgramInfo(10001_20101229134400.mpg), Error: GetPlaybackURL: '10001_20101229134400.mpg' should be local, but it can not be found.
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.924 ProgramInfo(): Updated pathname '':'' -> '10001_20101229134400.mpg'
    2010-12-29 13:44:01.967 ProgramInfo(): Updated pathname '':'' -> '10001_20101229134400.mpg'
    2010-12-29 13:44:02.889 Reschedule requested for id 0.
    2010-12-29 13:44:03.526 Scheduled 184 items in 0.6 = 0.01 match + 0.62 place
    2010-12-29 13:44:03.533 scheduler: Scheduled items: Scheduled 184 items in 0.6 = 0.01 match + 0.62 place
    2010-12-29 13:44:04.918 ProgramInfo(): Updated pathname '':'' -> '10001_20101229134400.mpg'
    2010-12-29 13:44:04.975 Error deleting 'GetPlaybackURL/UNABLE/TO/FIND/LOCAL/FILE/ON/MythBuntu/10001_20101229134400.mpg' could not open
            eno: No such file or directory (2)
    2010-12-29 13:44:04.992 Delete Error 'GetPlaybackURL/UNABLE/TO/FIND/LOCAL/FILE/ON/MythBuntu/10001_20101229134400.mpg'
            eno: No such file or directory (2)
    2010-12-29 13:44:09.002 Reschedule requested for id 0.
    2010-12-29 13:44:09.619 Scheduled 184 items in 0.6 = 0.01 match + 0.60 place
    2010-12-29 13:44:09.629 scheduler: Scheduled items: Scheduled 184 items in 0.6 = 0.01 match + 0.60 place

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    647

    Re: HDPVR as generic input device

    Quote Originally Posted by nickrout View Post
    I have done this before, albeit with a PVR-150. You don't need schedules direct.

    In backend setup set up your hdpvr then setup a source as "no grabber" and call it dummy.

    In "input connections" connect the card to the video source and enter /bin/true as the channel change script.

    Then set up a channel - give it whatever number you aren't already using.

    Then do manual scheduling.

    It's a while since I did this, but I think I got all the steps right.
    Any idea how to "add a channel" to this input? If there is no schedules direct database to call and you can't "fetch channel info" from the unit...it doesn't like that I have not assigned a starting channel to it.


  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Neither here nor there
    Beans
    3,290
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: HDPVR as generic input device

    in mythtv-setup there is a channel editor that you can use to add/modify/delete channels.
    Linux & MythTV 4 Life
    Running ubuntu on an Atom 330, Atom D525, Turion 64 X2 TL-56, X2 3800, X2 4200, X2 4600, E2180, Core i5 450M, and a Core i7-2600
    My Hardware

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    647

    Re: HDPVR as generic input device

    Quote Originally Posted by newlinux View Post
    in mythtv-setup there is a channel editor that you can use to add/modify/delete channels.
    Ah, there it is, thanks...I had it before, but I had to totally re-install Mythbuntu.

    Anyway, I was hoping this issue would clear up, but it still doesn't work. I get a red recorder failed "f" error.

    The log looks the same as above.

    Can anyone give me any further hints or things to look at?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Neither here nor there
    Beans
    3,290
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: HDPVR as generic input device

    Is the start channel the same as the channel you added? And you have the channel changer as /bin/true?
    Linux & MythTV 4 Life
    Running ubuntu on an Atom 330, Atom D525, Turion 64 X2 TL-56, X2 3800, X2 4200, X2 4600, E2180, Core i5 450M, and a Core i7-2600
    My Hardware

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    647

    Re: HDPVR as generic input device

    Quote Originally Posted by newlinux View Post
    Is the start channel the same as the channel you added? And you have the channel changer as /bin/true?
    Yes to both.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    647

    Re: HDPVR as generic input device

    One other thing I should mention...maybe this will spark a thought...

    When I have the HDPVR setup in the backup setup, live TV doesn't work. When I select live TV I get a black screen with "please wait..." for a few seconds and then it goes back to the MythTV menu. Also, other inputs have difficulty recording when the HDPVR is setup as an input in the backend setup.

    Specifically, when I setup the inputs and actually have the "dummy" channel guide entered into the HDPVR, that's when the frontend chokes.

    Could it have something to do with the frequency table? I have to choose us-bdcast or us-cable or something else random...there is no "none".

    ?
    Last edited by davidstoll; February 8th, 2011 at 04:25 AM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •