Thread: Rotate Image (Script) without changing "modified" date

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Rotate Image (Script) without changing "modified" date

Hello everyone, Joe Newbie here. Welcome to my first script; well sorta. I am actually modifying someone else's script and I need some help. The original script rotated image files to the left but it changed the "modified date stamp" which is something I didn't want.

Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    while [[ -n "$1" ]]; do
        #if a file and not a dir
        if [[ -f "$1" ]]; then
            #the images that I copy from my cell phone don't have exif headers
            #so I am using the -mkexif switch first to match the exif information
            #to the "created date" in the .jpg file. 
            jhead -mkexif "$1"

#by default, jpegtran will only copy some
            # Exif data, so we'll specify "all"
            jpegtran -rotate 270 -copy all -outfile "$1" "$1"

#Then the next line uses the -ft switch which will match the "modified date" 
            #using the exif date and time previously matched from the first line
            #of this script.
            jhead -ft "$1"

#clear rotation/orientation tag so that
                    # some viewers (e.g. Eye of GNOME) 
                    # won't be fooled
            jhead -norot "$1"
        fi
        shift
    done
    I've done batch files in DOS years ago so there are a lot of similarities of course. And I'm not looking for someone to just fix this for me but to also explain to me what I'm doing that is causing the incorrect behavior. Is there a more elegant way of doing this?

And BTW, it actually does what I'm asking it to do but only when I do something I consider quite odd.

1) I right click on the .jpg and select rotate left.
    2) The file responds by flipping 180 degrees 'instead' of 90 degree counter clockwise.
    3) I refresh the file manager and nothing happens.