Thread: Ubuntu faster than Windows?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

Question Ubuntu faster than Windows?

I'm fairly new to Ubuntu and I've only installed it on three computers. However, I can't help but think that it runs much faster than Windows. Is this true?

I can't be sure because one of the machines is a brand new Sony Laptop with a quad core i5. The other two are much older HP's. I did a clean install on both of those, completely erasing everything on the hard drive.

You see where I'm going with this... the one is brand new and the others were wiped clean. This could totally answer for the seemingly increased speed.

My question is: Is Ubuntu really faster? Can anyone back this up? Thanks!

Beans

Re: Ubuntu faster than Windows?

This has generally been my experience. Although I have no real data to back it up.

Beans

This is pretty commonly observed by people comparing the two, but I think it depends on a few things; for example, which version of Windows? What hardware (poor graphics drivers for some hardware gives a perception of slowness)? How is Ubuntu configured? What features are enabled/disabled on each OS?

But comparing the default installs of the latest Windows vs the latest ubuntu, I don't think too many people around here would disagree with the statement that ubuntu is faster.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

I also agree that Ubuntu is faster and more stable than Windows.

Just one example:

At work we have to use Windows. We use OpenOffice; it takes at least 2-3 times longer for it to open than it does on my home laptop (which only has Ubuntu) despite the fact that the computer at work has a faster processor, better graphics card, and more RAM.

At home, OpenOffice opens almost instantaneously; I love it!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Windows is slow on laptops, whereas Ubuntu is reasonably fast on all computers.