Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: ATI HD 3600 Issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Oxford
    Beans
    33
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    ATI HD 3600 Issues

    Evening all,

    Still having issues with my ATI card. What I have done is reinstall the drivers and all went really well.

    But the driver can't seem to see my card.

    I used this:

    Code:
    lspci -nn | grep VGA
    And I get this as a result:

    Code:
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc Mobility Radeon HD 3600 Series [1002:9598]
    Now, I know for a fact my card is not a mobile chip. It's the normal desktop card. Any ideas? I have no idea how any desktop trickery is working.

    Thanks in advance!
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo e6400 @ 2.13Ghz
    GPU: ATI HD 3600
    Memory: 4GB DDR2 800Mhz
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64/Ubuntu 10.10 64bit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Oxford
    Beans
    33
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: ATI HD 3600 Issues

    Bump
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo e6400 @ 2.13Ghz
    GPU: ATI HD 3600
    Memory: 4GB DDR2 800Mhz
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64/Ubuntu 10.10 64bit

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: ATI HD 3600 Issues

    don't bump a thread unless it's over two days old.

    How did you install the drivers?

    What do you mean driver does not see your card?
    Easy to understand Ubuntu manual with lots of pics: http://ubuntu-manual.org/
    Do i need antivirus/firewall in linux?
    User friendly disk backup (suitable for older PCs): Redobackup Less friendly disk backup (works on new PC): Clonezilla

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    5,078
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: ATI HD 3600 Issues

    There's good reason for putting a mobility chip in a desktop expansion card: lower power, therefore less cooling required. I would believe what my computer tells me in this case.

    Unless the card has a honkin' great heat sink and fan...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Oxford
    Beans
    33
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: ATI HD 3600 Issues

    Sorry for bumping.

    I installed them according to the guide on this web page.

    The reason I didn't use Jocky is because it seems to have glitched up since it says I am using FireGL drivers but I have a HD3600 normal GPU.

    I'm not new to computing just new(ish) to Linux. All my machines are built by me so I know exactly what is in them. To add more, I have the box for the GPU and Windows 7 sees it as a HD3600.
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo e6400 @ 2.13Ghz
    GPU: ATI HD 3600
    Memory: 4GB DDR2 800Mhz
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64/Ubuntu 10.10 64bit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    5,078
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: ATI HD 3600 Issues

    You haven't said why you think "But the driver can't seem to see my card."

    What video card is it?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    0

    Re: ATI HD 3600 Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by gordintoronto View Post
    You haven't said why you think "But the driver can't seem to see my card."

    What video card is it?
    Yup, video card is an important issue.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    4

    Re: ATI HD 3600 Issues

    ATI Radeon HD 3600 AGP graphics card, but when I install the drivers for it, it shows that I have a standard VGA adapter.Quitting and then reload the game seems to fix it, but if I run into another issue 'm wondering.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Oxford
    Beans
    33
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: ATI HD 3600 Issues

    The card is a ATI Radeon HD 3600 PCI-E. I don't seem to have an xorg.conf file either..
    Last edited by Toxcity; November 16th, 2010 at 03:56 PM.
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo e6400 @ 2.13Ghz
    GPU: ATI HD 3600
    Memory: 4GB DDR2 800Mhz
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64/Ubuntu 10.10 64bit

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    5,078
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: ATI HD 3600 Issues

    Sorry, I'm interested in the brand and model, not just what chip it has.

    Tox, it's normal to have no xorg.conf, but you can create one.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •