Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 114

Thread: Asus U43JC

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    18

    Re: Asus U43JC

    Quote Originally Posted by gravufo View Post
    Hey,

    I formatted my ubuntu partition and reinstalled (to test with a fresh install) and it still doesn't seem to work!

    I did exactly what was said in the tutorial and after reboot, I'm at 15000mW or more with wifi off, no USB plugged in nor Wifi.

    I don't understand what could be the culprit now >.<

    Thanks a lot!
    I'm also having a 15000 mW (with WiFi on, and one USB device) minimal.

    That's a known kernel bug in 3.0, 3.1 and 3.2, power consumption of Intel processors is higher than it should be.

    It's fixed in kernel 3.3.

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    16

    Re: Asus U43JC

    Hey!

    Linux kernel just got updated and it works!!

    I'm at 10mW with everything on minimum, Wifi off and stuff

    It's really awesome!

    Thanks so much

  3. #93
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Asus U43JC

    I keep putting off this process. =^/ I should probably buckle down and try again (I'm pretty tired of using Windows =^P).

    So far I've been using the 64 bit version of Ubuntu. I just assumed it was the right one to use (considering the hardware); am I correct in this thinking?

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    18

    Re: Asus U43JC

    Quote Originally Posted by TheoJava View Post
    I keep putting off this process. =^/ I should probably buckle down and try again (I'm pretty tired of using Windows =^P).

    So far I've been using the 64 bit version of Ubuntu. I just assumed it was the right one to use (considering the hardware); am I correct in this thinking?
    Use either 64 or 32, both work, I personally prefer 32 as some programs are still not written for 64.

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    4

    Angry Re: Asus U43JC

    Quote Originally Posted by TheoJava View Post
    I keep putting off this process. =^/ I should probably buckle down and try again (I'm pretty tired of using Windows =^P).

    So far I've been using the 64 bit version of Ubuntu. I just assumed it was the right one to use (considering the hardware); am I correct in this thinking?
    Installed fresh Xubuntu 11.10 64-bit, updated to latest stable kernel. Followed commands on my Asus U33Jc (same configuration minus DVD drive), getting a present rate of 20K+ kW. Also, the command to fix the CPU freq limit did not work.

    Any ideas?

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    18

    Re: Asus U43JC

    Yep, you can't consider that your computer is the same, because that's wrong.

    So the calls aren't the sames.

  7. #97
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    4

    Angry Re: Asus U43JC

    Quote Originally Posted by ArchangeGabriel View Post
    Yep, you can't consider that your computer is the same, because that's wrong.

    So the calls aren't the sames.
    Damn! How would I figure those calls out?

  8. #98
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    18

    Re: Asus U43JC

    By following this procedure :
    https://github.com/Bumblebee-Project...ebee/wiki/ACPI
    (lastest lines)

  9. #99
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Asus U43JC

    So I reinstalled Ubuntu (in addition to getting fed up with, and ditching Windows all together). I started going through this how-to again, and found that the setting about the power management in bumblebee.conf aren't even in the actual file anymore. I also Googled Bumblebee and found that power management is enabled by default in the latest version...?

    Does that make the Nvidia power management section on here unnecessary now? I mean, would I be able to get the same functionality by default after installing bumblebee now, or is there some other process I should go through?

  10. #100
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    18

    Re: Asus U43JC

    Indeed, Bumblebee 3.0 has automatic support for Power Management. Even suspend is supported. So, installation of bumblebee is the only thing needed.

Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •