Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Using a chroot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Beans
    397
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Using a chroot

    I'm running Ubuntu 10.10 64bit and I have succesfully installed 10.10 32bit as a chroot using https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BasicChroot
    I'm able to go into the chroot shell and it works perfectly

    Now I need to know how to use it lol

    I want to run PCSX2. I have it downloaded in my personal Downloads folder but how to I access it from a chroot? also will I have to install all the libs required for PCSX2 within the chroot itself?

    I'm lost

    any direction whatsoever would help!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lab, Slovakia
    Beans
    10,790

    Re: Using a chroot

    Howdy,

    Chroot is very last century and a pain in the derrier to use. You should rather use VMware or Virtualbox.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Beans
    397
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Using a chroot

    Quote Originally Posted by HermanAB View Post
    Howdy,

    Chroot is very last century and a pain in the derrier to use. You should rather use VMware or Virtualbox.
    What? Are you Sure? I understand virtualization as I run Windows 7 in VirtualBox

    According to PCSX2
    http://code.google.com/p/pcsx2/wiki/...64bStatusLinux
    CHROOT is the best route to take which was just updated in September

    I am not trying to virtualize an entire operating system and WASTE that much resources just for 1 program

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BasicChroot states that one good use of chroot is for Running 32-bit applications on 64-bit systems
    Last edited by emoguitarist06; November 6th, 2010 at 09:19 AM. Reason: wrong month for pcsx2

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Beans
    397
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Using a chroot

    Bump

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,788

    Re: Using a chroot

    Did you bind mount your home directory (or whatever other directory) in /etc/fstab?
    also will I have to install all the libs required for PCSX2 within the chroot itself?
    Yes. That's the point of the chroot (to use 32-bit libs).

    Chroot is very last century and a pain in the derrier to use. You should rather use VMware or Virtualbox.
    LOL. The 3D support/performance provided by the virtualbox driver is nowhere near what one can get with a native chroot. Chroots are not deprecated by VM's.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Beans
    397
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Using a chroot

    Quote Originally Posted by Temüjin View Post
    Did you bind mount your home directory (or whatever other directory) in /etc/fstab?
    No but I will tonight and post my results
    I did check
    $ sudo editor /etc/schroot/mount-defaults
    and made sure nothing was commented (#)

    Quote Originally Posted by Temüjin View Post
    Yes. That's the point of the chroot (to use 32-bit libs).
    So obviously I'm going to need to add the repos to be able to add the libs.

    Quote Originally Posted by Temüjin View Post
    LOL. The 3D support/performance provided by the virtualbox driver is nowhere near what one can get with a native chroot. Chroots are not deprecated by VM's.
    That what I thought

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Beans
    397
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Using a chroot

    I mounted my home folder into my chroot using
    Code:
    sudo mount -o bind /home /var/chroot/home
    it worked perfectly

    Now how do I add repos? I can't
    Code:
    gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
    because gedit isn't installed

    and what repos do I need?
    You need the following installed: libasound2-dev, libbz2-dev, libgl1-mesa-dev, libglew1.5-dev, libglu1-mesa-dev, libgtk2.0-dev, libjpeg-dev, libsdl1.2-dev, libsoundtouch1-dev, libsparsehash-dev, libwxbase2.8-dev, libwxgtk2.8-dev, libx11-dev, nvidia-cg-toolkit, portaudio19-dev, zlib1g-dev

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Beans
    397
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Using a chroot

    I also tried
    Code:
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:gregory-hainaut/pcsx2.official.ppa
    but "add-apt-repository" isn't found lol

    That's the official PPA noted here
    http://code.google.com/p/pcsx2/wiki/...nGuideForLinux

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Beans
    397
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Using a chroot

    UPDATE

    I copied all the repos from my friends 32bit Maverick and I installed all libs BUT here is my problem
    Code:
    root@phillipguy-laptop:~/Downloads/pcsx2-0.9.7-r3881# ./pcsx2 
    Error: Unable to initialize gtk, is DISPLAY set properly?
    I have tried
    Code:
    export DISPLAY=:0.0
    as noted here:https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BasicChroot
    but still no luck

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Beans
    397
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Using a chroot

    SOLVED

    Using the knowledge here:
    http://wiki.mandriva.com/en/Developm...ide_the_chroot

    I installed Xephyr
    which in Maverick is:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install xserver-xephyr
    I mounted /dev/input/ to my chroot so I can use my PS3 Sixaxis controller
    in chroot shell
    Code:
    mkdir /dev/input
    outside shell
    Code:
    sudo mount -o bind /dev/input /var/chroot/dev/input
    Finally to run my graphical application
    outside shell
    Code:
    Xephyr -ac -fullscreen :1
    You can remove -fullscreen if you don't want fullscreen but for PCSX2 I couldn't play it without -fullscreen
    inside chroot
    Code:
    export DISPLAY=localhost:1
    and then run your program... in my case ./home/phillipguy/Downloads/pcsx2

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •