Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: wlan0 blocked by rfkill

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    4

    wlan0 blocked by rfkill

    Heya, I updated my laptop with a fresh install of 10.10 this morning. Everything seems to be working fine besides the wifi. I've browsed through this forum section and Google and tried some various solutions but I can't get it to work. I found some output requests so I'll begin by posting my outputs from those and hopefully someone can help me easier.

    Code:
    $ sudo lshw -C network
      *-network               
           description: Ethernet interface
           product: RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller
           vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
           logical name: eth0
           version: 02
           serial: --
           size: 100MB/s
           capacity: 100MB/s
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: pm msi pciexpress msix vpd bus_master cap_list rom  ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
           configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=r8169  driverversion=2.3LK-NAPI duplex=full ip=192.168.0.109 latency=0 link=yes  multicast=yes port=MII speed=100MB/s
           resources: irq:43 ioport:3000(size=256) memory:d3010000-d3010fff memory:d3000000-d300ffff memory:d3020000-d303ffff
      *-network DISABLED
           description: Wireless interface
           product: AR5001 Wireless Network Adapter
           vendor: Atheros Communications Inc.
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
           logical name: wlan0
           version: 01
           serial: --
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: pm msi pciexpress msix bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
           configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ath5k  driverversion=2.6.35-22-generic firmware=N/A latency=0 link=yes  multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bg
           resources: irq:17 memory:d5100000-d510ffff
    $ sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not possible due to RF-kill
    $ sudo rfkill list
    0: hp-wifi: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: yes
        Hard blocked: yes
    1: phy0: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: yes
        Hard blocked: no
    $ sudo rfkill unblock all
    $ sudo rfkill list
    0: hp-wifi: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: yes
        Hard blocked: yes
    1: phy0: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
    I can't enable wireless networking in the network manager since it's greyed out. I tried setting WirelessEnabled=true in /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state and then restart the network manager but that didn't change anything. I also tried wicd instead of NetworkManager -- no luck.

    I ran the following to see what happens when I press the wifi button on my laptop:

    Code:
    $ sudo rfkill event
    1288606442.348538: idx 0 type 1 op 0 soft 1 hard 1
    1288606442.348589: idx 1 type 1 op 0 soft 0 hard 0
    1288606447.036105: idx 0 type 1 op 2 soft 1 hard 0
    1288606448.748096: idx 0 type 1 op 2 soft 1 hard 1
    1288606450.209440: idx 0 type 1 op 2 soft 1 hard 0
    1288606453.179616: idx 0 type 1 op 2 soft 1 hard 1
    However, it's permanently glowing blue. The laptop is a Compaq Presario CQ70. Does anybody know how to solve this issue? I really appreciate any help I can get with this.
    Last edited by qwz; November 1st, 2010 at 12:34 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Dayton Ohio USA
    Beans
    1,069
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: wlan0 blocked by rfkill

    You have a hardware switch blocking the device. Is there a switch that turns it off/on ?
    Last edited by MooPi; November 1st, 2010 at 02:13 PM. Reason: correction
    It's okay, I'm a limo driver

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    4

    Re: wlan0 blocked by rfkill

    Quote Originally Posted by MooPi View Post
    You have a hardware switch blocking the device. Is this a laptop and is there a switch that turns it off/on ?
    Yes, the button is constantly glowing blue and pressing it doesn't seem to work. It should be blue when enabled and red when disabled.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Dayton Ohio USA
    Beans
    1,069
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: wlan0 blocked by rfkill

    My only guess is the switch is defective or is Windows dependent. If you dual boot check and see if you can activate the switch via Windows.
    It's okay, I'm a limo driver

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    26,047
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: wlan0 blocked by rfkill

    I am not sure that I agree that the switch is defective. Is there any improvement if you do:
    Code:
    sudo rmmod -f hp-wmi
    If it helps the switch work correctly and enables your wireless, we will need to modify one file to make it permanent.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    4

    Re: wlan0 blocked by rfkill

    Quote Originally Posted by chili555 View Post
    I am not sure that I agree that the switch is defective. Is there any improvement if you do:
    Code:
    sudo rmmod -f hp-wmi
    If it helps the switch work correctly and enables your wireless, we will need to modify one file to make it permanent.
    I ran rmmod -f hp-wmi and the nic changed from "not ready" (I think) to "disconnected" in the network manager. The switch still doesn't work.

    I proceeded with ifconfig wlan0 up, got the "Operation not possible due to RF-kill" again, ran rfkill unlock all and then rfkill list, that outputs that phy0 is neither soft or hard blocked. iwlist scan says that wlan0 has no scan results but there are plenty of networks in the area that should be detected.

    The switch isn't defective, it flashes properly between red and blue at the laptop's boot process. wifi access has been working in previous versions of Ubuntu.

    Thanks for your replies guys!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    25

    Re: wlan0 blocked by rfkill

    Quote Originally Posted by qwz View Post
    wifi access has been working in previous versions of Ubuntu.
    I have this same problem that I reported just a little bit earlier.

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1610928

    My system (10.04) was working fine and then suddenly stopped working. I suspect one of the recent updates (in the past two weeks). I upgraded to 10.10, but the problem continued.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: wlan0 blocked by rfkill

    I also just installed a fresh 10.10 Ubuntu to a laptop that was running Windows7 before I got it. I am having the same issue as the OP. Here is my output from rfkill list:
    Code:
    1: phy0: Wireless LAN
    	Soft blocked: no
    	Hard blocked: yes
    Here is my relevant output from sudo lshw -C Network:
    Code:
    *-network DISABLED      
           description: Wireless interface
           product: PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection
           vendor: Intel Corporation
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:08:00.0
           logical name: wlan0
           version: 02
           serial: 00:18:de:2b:d8:bd
           width: 32 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    26,047
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: wlan0 blocked by rfkill

    What kind of laptop is it?
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: wlan0 blocked by rfkill

    Quote Originally Posted by chili555 View Post
    What kind of laptop is it?
    Hah, forgot to mention that bit, my bad. Compaq nc6320. Running 10.10 32bit.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •