Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: [How To] PXE install server with ProxyDHCP

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    84

    Re: [How To] PXE install server with ProxyDHCP

    Ok, om not sure what the limitation there is on the live CD, if any. I have used remstersys with nothing special to create the CD.

    They only test I have done is to boot it in vmware and on my desktop. Both working.

    Perhaps the best solution for you is to install vmware player and boot the iso? You can also try to install it in e.g. vmware or virtual box.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Beans
    69
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: [How To] PXE install server with ProxyDHCP

    Don't worry -I give up.
    Last night, so some unknown reason, Ubuntu booting worked (well, not completely, just an old P3 laptop with 256mb ram, but liveCD started properly) but this morning boot failed again.
    Brilliant.
    I hate computers
    Last edited by sjhupp; October 31st, 2010 at 12:32 AM.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    84

    Re: [How To] PXE install server with ProxyDHCP

    I have fixed the problem with exporting nfs on the LiveCD.
    (solution is to keep the data in an iso and mount it in the export directory.)

    Depending on the interest I will make a new release in a week or two.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    35

    Re: [How To] PXE install server with ProxyDHCP

    check this out
    PXE/ProxyDHCP Ubuntu install from a standard Ubuntu install ISO image with the environment set by a single Windows app.
    http://www.vercot.com/~serva/howto/UbuntuPXE1.html

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    84

    Re: [How To] PXE install server with ProxyDHCP

    check this out
    PXE/ProxyDHCP Ubuntu install from a standard Ubuntu install ISO image with the environment set by a single Windows app.
    http://www.vercot.com/~serva/howto/UbuntuPXE1.html
    Yes, nice tool, but it requries a win OS.

    The result is exactly the same as copying the netboot to tftp and publishing the CD with apache. Could be nice to copy the ubuntu menu like in that exemple.

    When do you not have internet access 2010? I did some tests on installing from the CD but I really think it is a better idea to use an apt cache. Then you get all you need from the mirror but you not need the space for a complete local mirror.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    35

    Re: [How To] PXE install server with ProxyDHCP

    Quote Originally Posted by vikjon0 View Post
    Yes, nice tool, but it requries a win OS.
    Sometimes is easier to get a Windows PC around and just set-up the PXE environment with only one tool, PXE on Linux involves configuring many apps ..

    Quote Originally Posted by vikjon0 View Post
    When do you not have internet access 2010?
    When dealing with embedded stuff, some virtual scenarios,..
    Last edited by ppatrick; November 2nd, 2010 at 02:57 PM.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    84

    Re: [How To] PXE install server with ProxyDHCP

    When dealing with embedded stuff, some virtual scenarios,..
    Fair enough. Open source is just a hobby for me since we use MS tech at work. I make a point of not using anything with a license cost. I think my setup is working without internet aswell.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    84

    Re: [How To] PXE install server with ProxyDHCP

    Any feedback on this? a few people have downloaded the cd but no comments.
    I was thinking of cleaning it up and upload a new version but I am currently looking into cloning scenarios since I want to install some stuff with no netboot initrd and it is just too much to learn to cook a custome initrd and/or installer.
    (some stuff = xbmc)

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    5

    Re: [How To] PXE install server with ProxyDHCP

    For some reason after selecting a distribution, it gets stuck at "Loading" and then gives me that confounded error which says something about press any key to retry or wait for reset.

    I finally, finally managed to solve the problem by downloading the latest version of SYSLINUX, compiling it, and using its files instead of the ones found on the Ubuntu 10.04.3 repository.

    Also, I'm using atftpd.

    I hope this helps whoever is stuck on this.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •