Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Authoring Blu-ray Movies on Linux

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Authoring Blu-ray Movies on Linux

I'm a independent filmmaker who also is a die-hard Ubuntu fan... After spending the summer making a short film, I needed to author Blu-ray discs for festival screenings, so I started digging around and trying stuff out until I got it working.

I thought I would share my results for others who might find it of value. I have a full write-up including a bit of a shell script that I whipped up today to ease the burden of it all.

http://irishjesus.wordpress.com/2010...ring-in-linux/

I've also included the script in this post (since I don't host files on my blog).

Enjoy, and feel free to comment or critique.

--Kyle
    Attached Files Attached Files

Beans

Re: Authoring Blu-ray Movies on Linux

Forget this script. It will produce Blurays that only play on very few "don't care at all about the spec, I'll play anything" Bluray-Players, and most certainly not on the most widespread Bluray-player of all, the PS3. You don't use the proper BD/AVCHD-compatible x264 settings for encoding the stream and also don't burn the disc as UDF 2.5 (which OSS-tools, even 8 years after it was speficied still cannot do, so you have to use Nero4Linux). Check the comments, the proper way, tested on countless Bluray-players to work perfectly, is described in there!
    Last edited by DeeKay64; May 18th, 2011 at 11:49 AM.

Beans
    Distro

You are correct. Unfortunately, I still have yet to find a detailed description anywhere else that completely describes how to author a Blu-ray Video disc, using linux tools, that works even partially. Also, your timing is apropos, as I had just updated the article this morning to reflect the information conveyed in the comments.