Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: LAN Setup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    250
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    LAN Setup

    2 PCs (wl-Dimension-3000 and bill-Vostro-200)

    I want to share the filesytem on wl-Dimension-3000.

    On wl-Dimension-3000

    /etc/exports contains this line

    /home 192.168.1.0/24(rw,sync,no_root_squash)


    Then running "sudo /etc/init.d/nfs-kernel-server restart" produces this message:-

    * Stopping NFS kernel daemon [ OK ]
    * Unexporting directories for NFS kernel daemon... [ OK ]
    * Exporting directories for NFS kernel daemon... exportfs: /etc/exports [1]: Neither 'subtree_check' or 'no_subtree_check' specified for export "192.168.1.0/24:/home".
    Assuming default behaviour ('no_subtree_check').
    NOTE: this default has changed since nfs-utils version 1.0.x

    [ OK ]
    * Starting NFS kernel daemon [ OK ]

    I thinks this is OK so far.

    On bill-Vostro-200

    "sudo mount wl-Dimension-3000:/home /mnt/home" produces:-

    mount.nfs: Failed to resolve server wl-Dimension-3000: No address associated with hostname


    Can anyone help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Beans
    230
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: LAN Setup

    Hey Have a look here. seams to be what you are trying to do.
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SettingUpNFSHowTo

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Le Petit Rocher
    Beans
    1,549
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: LAN Setup

    I all you want to do is look at and transfer files on the two computers, this is easy.

    http://my.opera.com/ubuntunerd1/blog...puters-via-ssh
    Six Saturdays a week for me.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    250
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: LAN Setup

    Phew! Went through everything in /SettingUpNFSHowTo

    $ sudo mount -t nfs4 -o proto=tcp,port=2049 nfs-server:/ /mnt

    resulted in

    mount.nfs4: Failed to resolve server nfs-server: No address associated with hostname

    also

    $ sudo mount -t nfs4 -o proto=tcp,port=2049 nfs-server:/users /home

    resulted in

    mount.nfs4: Failed to resolve server nfs-server: No address associated with hostname

    have checked that both filesystems are NFSv4.
    both computers are running Ubuntu 10.10

    any ideas?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    250
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: LAN Setup

    Re SSH

    Thanks for the idea. I already used it and it worked fine. I want to access the server files from code and couldn't find a way of addressing the ssh mount

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Metro Boston
    Beans
    12,637
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: LAN Setup

    Quote Originally Posted by bill-lancaster View Post
    mount.nfs4: Failed to resolve server nfs-server: No address associated with hostnamep
    Put an entry into /etc/hosts on the client that has the IP address and name for "nfs-server".

    Quote Originally Posted by bill-lancaster View Post
    Re SSH

    Thanks for the idea. I already used it and it worked fine. I want to access the server files from code and couldn't find a way of addressing the ssh mount
    You can create an entry in /etc/fstab using the sshfs filesystem type. See this thread for details.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    250
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: LAN Setup

    thanks for suggesting "/etc/fstab using the sshfs filesystem type" etc.
    After an hour or two of fiddling I failed again!
    However, following this line I tried using scp commands which enables me to transfer files.
    Hooray!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    1

    Re: LAN Setup

    I have 5 computer in my office with Linux OS can you tell me how to setup the LAN connection?

    http://www.capmaison.com

    http://www.thebodyholiday.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Metro Boston
    Beans
    12,637
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: LAN Setup

    Quote Originally Posted by bill-lancaster View Post
    However, following this line I tried using scp commands which enables me to transfer files.
    If you're going to use scp in a script, you should implement shared key authentication if you haven't already. You'll avoid needing to use a password that way.

    @sanjibeceltic

    I suggest you start a separate thread and provide more details about what you need. Do you already have network hardware in place? A router of some kind? What steps have you already taken?
    Last edited by SeijiSensei; October 20th, 2010 at 03:18 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •