Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Help with LAMP server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    5

    Help with LAMP server

    I just created a LAMP server VM as follow:

    Host OS: Ubuntu desktop 10.04
    VM app: VirtualBox
    Guest OS: Ubuntu Server 10.04

    Commands for LAMP install:
    http://mixeduperic.com/linux/how-to-...04-server.html
    and

    http://roberttrevellyan.blogspot.com...ver-setup.html

    Commands for ufw setup:
    http://1000umbrellas.com/2010/04/29/...id-lynx-server

    I'm receive this error when i attempt to connect to phpmyadmin from my host OS web browser:

    ================================================== =====
    Unable to connect

    Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 192.168.1.106.

    * The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
    moments.

    * If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
    connection.

    * If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
    that Firefox is permitted to access the Web
    ================================================== =====

    My goal is to setup a LAMP VM so i can learn how to PHP/MySQL. I want to be able to develop on my host OS and upload files to the guest OS to view from my host OS.

    Can someone help me please?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Pikes Peak
    Beans
    1,175
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Help with LAMP server

    If you disable ufw does the browser connect? Check the phpMyAdmin configuration if you need but looking at the documentation you followed my guess is that the port needed, by default 8080, is blocked. This is the phpMyAdmin wiki page- http://wiki.phpmyadmin.net/pma/Config
    The section at the top of that page, PmaAbsoluteUri, discusses the config for the access you desire I believe.

    I just installed Apache, MySQL, php and Drupal on my laptop for much the same reason since I didn't have another machine to use. I intend to find one and do this so I'm anxious to know how this comes out for you.
    Jim
    Toshiba Satellite L505-S6946
    Precise, Fedora, Kororaa, Bodhi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Surrey, England
    Beans
    259
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Help with LAMP server

    By far the easiest way to install a LAMP server is to run

    Code:
    sudo taskel
    in a terminal and choose the LAMP option using your keyboard's space bar to tick the box. Do *not* untick any of the other boxes which are marked, as you may inadvertently uninstall your GNOME/KDE desktop and do other horrible things.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Help with LAMP server

    Make sure you are using bridged networking instead of NAT.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    5

    Re: Help with LAMP server

    why is taskel needed?
    sudo taskel

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    A flat.
    Beans
    80
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Help with LAMP server

    Quote Originally Posted by cavh View Post
    By far the easiest way to install a LAMP server is to run

    Code:
    sudo taskel
    in a terminal and choose the LAMP option using your keyboard's space bar to tick the box. Do *not* untick any of the other boxes which are marked, as you may inadvertently uninstall your GNOME/KDE desktop and do other horrible things.
    That would be "sudo tasksel", if I am not mistaken.
    --Andy
    Ubuntu 10.10 "Maverick Meerkat".
    My blog: andym3.wordpress.com
    The Ubuntu/Debian user's savior: keryxproject.org

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    5

    Re: Help with LAMP server

    OK I created a new Ubuntu server VM machine. During the Server OS install, I picked LAMP Server and OpenSSH Server to be installed. After the Server OS install, I installed phpmyadmin, ufw, nano, wget.

    I tested and was able to see 'phpinfo()' on my Host OS browser. Also, I was able to login to phpmyadmin as well so these work.

    Now, I want to be able to create domains and subdomain I as I learn php and mysql. My question is how do i do that? For example:

    localhost/Chapter1/project1/index.php
    localhost/Chapter1/project2/index.php
    localhost/Chapter2/project1/index.php
    localhost/Chapter2/project2/index.php

    etc .....
    Also with ufw how do I setup ufw so i don't lose host OS browser access to php, mysql and apache? I didn't enable ufw yet because I feel I might have set it up wrong in my last install.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Help with LAMP server

    You'd need to create those folders in /var/www/
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    10

    Re: Help with LAMP server

    That will be done in apache2, called virtual directories. You can map a folder either to domain names or IP address (so that when you go to test.com it will send you to the folder /var/www/html/test/index.php), phpadmin does the same thing (and you will see its virtual directory settings). You have to look-up how to do that on Ubuntu as I usually use fedora/centOS as my web-server of choice, and it is slightly different(but I cut my teeth on Ubuntu).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    5

    Re: Help with LAMP server

    Thanks CharlesA, it works now. Now that everything is work right. How do I set up ufw to security without out screwing up the Host OS access to the webserver?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •