Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: If I add memory, do I need to enlarge the swap partition?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Beans
    191
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    If I add memory, do I need to enlarge the swap partition?

    Hello:

    I bought 2 gigs of ram to add to the existing 4 gigs - do I need to increase the size of the swap partition?

    If so, can this be done without harming my root and home partitions?

    If so, how?

    Thanks,
    Rob.

    "Action, is the universal solution; do the inevitable immediately."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Queensland - Australia
    Beans
    322
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: If I add memory, do I need to enlarge the swap partition?

    im pretty sure you could make your swap partition smaller, however i would just leave it as is
    Amd Phenom 2 p920 Quad Core, 4gb DDR3 Ram, ATI Mobility Radeon 5650, 500gb hdd, Ubuntu 10.04 and Windows 7.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    43° 7' 41" 131° 54' 3"
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: If I add memory, do I need to enlarge the swap partition?

    No....in fact in some instances you can actually remove the swap partition. The swap partition is virtual memory. The more physical memory you add the less work your disk has to do.
    EasyBCD.
    PrintersDatabase
    Boot Info Script: How to
    The post above and the post below suffer from the Rashomon effect!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    S.H.I.E.L.D. 6-1-6
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: If I add memory, do I need to enlarge the swap partition?

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert.Thompson View Post
    Hello:

    I bought 2 gigs of ram to add to the existing 4 gigs - do I need to increase the size of the swap partition?

    If so, can this be done without harming my root and home partitions?

    If so, how?

    Thanks,
    dependss on if you hibernate your computer.
    Don't waste your energy trying to change opinions ... Do your thing, and don't care if they like it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    7,745

    Re: If I add memory, do I need to enlarge the swap partition?

    If you use the Hibernate feature, your swap must exceed your RAM. Otherwise, you may not even need swap at all, depending on your typical RAM usage.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    over there
    Beans
    2,516
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: If I add memory, do I need to enlarge the swap partition?

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert.Thompson View Post
    Hello:

    I bought 2 gigs of ram to add to the existing 4 gigs - do I need to increase the size of the swap partition?
    No.
    "All people are scum. No matter what they look like." ~ Spider Jerusalem, Transmetropolitan #4
    blog photoblog


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    If only I knew....
    Beans
    424
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: If I add memory, do I need to enlarge the swap partition?

    Echoing the above posts.

    If you plan to use Hibernate, then yes, you should increase Swap.
    If you don't, then you do not need to do anything to it.

    To increase it, you'll have to boot from a Live CD and use Gparted to shrink your Ubuntu Partition and enlarge Swap.
    Dell Latitude E6400 | Intel Core 2 Duo T9400 @ 2.53 GHz | 4GB DDR2 SDRAM @ 800 MHz | 250GB HDD 7200 RPM | NVIDIA Quadro NVS 160M 512 MB
    Use a Dell E-Latitude? | I lost The Game

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    43° 7' 41" 131° 54' 3"
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: If I add memory, do I need to enlarge the swap partition?

    EasyBCD.
    PrintersDatabase
    Boot Info Script: How to
    The post above and the post below suffer from the Rashomon effect!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Beans
    191
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: If I add memory, do I need to enlarge the swap partition?

    Thanks to all of you!

    Just curious, is there a limit as to how much memory Ubuntu can use or needs?
    Rob.

    "Action, is the universal solution; do the inevitable immediately."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    4,311

    Re: If I add memory, do I need to enlarge the swap partition?

    Ubuntu can probably use any realistic amount of memory on 64-bit or 32-bit with PAE. As for minimum requirements.. 512 is a solid number but you can get away with less, especially if you use xfce/lxde.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •