Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: pppd issue with sakis3g

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    7

    pppd issue with sakis3g

    Hi,
    I am using the latest version of sakis3g with Huawei E122 Modem.
    my problem is that, i am getting always 10.106.48.227 or similar as ip, but i need remote IP that my provider assigned to me.

    It works just fine with NetworkManager Applet 0.8, I got with that as IP 78.132.30.* and that is what i need.

    I have enabled the debug mode in pppd options and could not see any different commands, my debug logs are:

    sakis3g Log: http://pastebin.com/aU1mCL1B
    networkmanager Log: http://pastebin.com/XfmeVTfQ

    Which pppd options should i use to get the public IP Address?

    thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: pppd issue with sakis3g

    Have you tried Sakis3g Forum


    Sakis3gForum


    Regards

    alexfish
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    7

    Re: pppd issue with sakis3g

    Yes.

    http://forum.sakis3g.org/smf/index.php?topic=102.0

    I think it is more pppd issue, because i can connect successfuly but the ip address is not what i want.

    ilhami

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: pppd issue with sakis3g

    hi

    from your post Sakis3g
    I am using the latest version of sakis3g full with Huawei E122 Modem.
    my problem is that, i am getting always 10.64.64.64 as local ip, but i need remote IP that my provider assigned to me.

    It works just fine with NetworkManager Applet 0.8, I got with that as IP 213.162.94.* and that is what i need.

    How can i do it with sakis3g?


    from your logfile

    sakis3g primary an secondary servers show

    1. nameserver 213.162.69.169
    2. nameserver 213.162.65.1

    from Network Manager log shows

    local IP address 78.132.113.37
    remote IP address 10.64.64.64
    primary DNS address 213.162.69.170
    secondary DNS address 213.162.65.2

    Sakis 3g only updates (exports) part of the routing table, where as NM exports a bit more info . The important bits are the primary and secondary Addresses , Which in both cases the "resolv.conf" confirms your connected to the correct server

    Also of note there are no listed named Servers for the network mmc232 , mnc02

    so your local IP and broadcast address will always vary ( as most 3g connections will )
    the important bit is the APN which appears to be correct


    To confirm your addresss , RE Sakis3g and NM

    From the terminal

    Code:

    cat /etc/resolv.conf

    regards

    alexfish
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: pppd issue with sakis3g

    for other info as regards ppp and Network Manager info

    you could try seeing what info is in the NM connections

    use the following with caution and do not alter or tamper with the file "you have been warned",
    it may result in having to reconfigure the device

    Code:

    gksu nautilus

    then goto /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections . and click on your connection

    and see if there is a [ppp] listing and a [ipv4] also you could check any other info , which may be of use

    regards

    alexfish
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    7

    Re: pppd issue with sakis3g

    from sakis3g log;
    Code:
    sent [IPCP ConfReq id=0x3 <addr 0.0.0.0> <ms-dns1 0.0.0.0> <ms-dns2 0.0.0.0>]
    rcvd [IPCP ConfNak id=0x3 <addr 10.106.48.227> <ms-dns1 213.162.69.170> <ms-dns2 213.162.65.2>]
    sent [IPCP ConfReq id=0x4 <addr 10.106.48.227> <ms-dns1 213.162.69.170> <ms-dns2 213.162.65.2>]
    rcvd [IPCP ConfAck id=0x4 <addr 10.106.48.227> <ms-dns1 213.162.69.170> <ms-dns2 213.162.65.2>]
    Could not determine remote IP address: defaulting to 10.64.64.64
    Cannot determine ethernet address for proxy ARP
    local  IP address 10.106.48.227
    remote IP address 10.64.64.64
    doesn't my provider assign the ip 10.106.48.227 here?

    and in networkmanager log it is different ip
    Code:
    rcvd [IPCP ConfNak id=0x3 <addr 78.132.30.74> <ms-dns1 213.162.69.169> <ms-dns2 213.162.65.1>]
    sent [IPCP ConfReq id=0x4 <addr 78.132.30.74> <ms-dns1 213.162.69.169> <ms-dns2 213.162.65.1>]
    rcvd [IPCP ConfAck id=0x4 <addr 78.132.30.74> <ms-dns1 213.162.69.169> <ms-dns2 213.162.65.1>]
    so i thought my ppp options different from the networkmanager's

    i will check /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections later.

    thank you

    ilhami

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: pppd issue with sakis3g

    hi

    yes I noticed the Authentication protocol , normaly 3g uses pap , sometimes or most times user name or passwords not required, where as networkmanager is using chap , and requires user name and password , also of note, it looks as if it is going through ms proticols ,

    by reason :
    ms-dns <addr>
    If pppd is acting as a server for Microsoft Windows clients,
    this option allows pppd to supply one or two DNS (Domain Name
    Server) addresses to the clients. The first instance of this
    option specifies the primary DNS address; the second instance
    (if given) specifies the secondary DNS address. (This option
    was present in some older versions of pppd under the name
    dns-addr.)

    ms-wins <addr>
    If pppd is acting as a server for Microsoft Windows or "Samba"
    clients, this option allows pppd to supply one or two WINS (Win‐
    dows Internet Name Services) server addresses to the clients.
    The first instance of this option specifies the primary WINS
    address; the second instance (if given) specifies the secondary
    WINS address.

    This is why it may be worth looking at the ppp details in NM, although the info for NM will be extracted from the modem via modem manager , so this leaves the possibilty that the modem is still been used in windows' or are using samba shares etc.

    regards

    alexfish
    Last edited by alexfish; September 27th, 2010 at 09:14 PM. Reason: not in first line.
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    7

    Re: pppd issue with sakis3g

    my /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/ folder is empty, there is no files at all.
    I have checked it with wireless and 3G connections

    so the Question is; why do i receive different reponses for almost the same requests from Sakis3g and Networkmanager?

    Code:
    rcvd [IPCP ConfNak id=0x3 <addr ....
    for APN:
    there is 2 APNs for t-mobile Austria, gprsinternet and business.gprsinternet,
    with "business.gprsinternet" i can get public dynamic ip for my modem. I got this info from t-mobile

    thank you

    ilhami

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: pppd issue with sakis3g

    Quote Originally Posted by ilhami View Post
    my /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/ folder is empty, there is no files at all.
    I have checked it with wireless and 3G connections

    so the Question is; why do i receive different reponses for almost the same requests from Sakis3g and Networkmanager?

    Code:
    rcvd [IPCP ConfNak id=0x3 <addr ....
    for APN:
    there is 2 APNs for t-mobile Austria, gprsinternet and business.gprsinternet,
    with "business.gprsinternet" i can get public dynamic ip for my modem. I got this info from t-mobile

    thank you


    ilhami
    3g connections operate on APN's (connect through apns) the apn relates to you pay plan

    as for your question, can best be described below

    First of all we have to find tty port to communicate with according to the log files this is /dev/ttyUSB0

    Open up first terminal and enter this code to monitor the modem outputs


    Code:
    tr -s "\n" < /dev/ttyUSB0

    open up a second terminal and enter the following codes


    echo -e "ATZ\r" > /dev/ttyUSB0

    it should return OK (also use this command if not getting correct results)

    All the following are my results(re t-mobile uk)

    if you have pin number

    echo -e "AT+CPIN=PINNUMBER\r" > /dev/ttyUSB0

    To find your Provider

    echo -e "AT+COPS?\r" > /dev/ttyUSB0


    it should return something like this

    +COPS: 0,0,"T-Mobile UK",2

    to find the mmc and mnc numbers

    echo -e "AT+COPS=0,2\r" > /dev/ttyUSB0


    echo -e "AT+COPS?\r" > /dev/ttyUSB0


    Returns something like this

    +COPS: 0,2,"23430",2

    the mcc and mnc number is taken from “23430” and splits into

    mcc =“234
    mnc = “30

    from these numbers it should be possible to look up the "Default named servers"
    in the providers data base

    AT+COPS=? This will list service providers available / this will take time while it searches / so Please Wait. It will show something like

    Code:
    echo -e "AT+COPS=?\r" > /dev/ttyUSB0

    +COPS: (2,"T-Mobile","T-Mobile","23430",2),(1,"T-Mobile","T-Mobile","23430",0),(3,"Vodafone UK","Vodafone UK","23415",2),(3,"Vodafone UK","Vodafone UK","23415",0),(3,"O2-UK","O2-UK","23410",0),(3,"Orange","Orange","23433",0),( 1, "3","3","23420",2),(3,"Orange","Orange","23433 ",2) ,(3,"O2-UK","O2-UK","23410",2),

    Notice that each service provider can have more than one entry( at this point sakis3g will ask to confirm which one to use , but since you have already confirmed your choice by Force APN ,it carries on with the connection

    however you still need the correct APN for the device(this is generally associated with your pay plan)

    To find the APN for the device

    Codes:
    echo -e "ATZ\r" > /dev/ttyUSB0

    echo -e "AT+CGDCONT?\r" > /dev/ttyUSB0


    this should produce a list of APN's on the device

    example

    example response from the first terminal
    +CGDCONT: 1,"IP","","0.0.0.0",0,0
    +CGDCONT: 2,"IP","payandgo.o2.co.uk","0.0.0.0",0,0
    +CGDCONT: 3,"IP","m-bb.o2.co.uk","0.0.0.0",0,0
    +CGDCONT: 4,"IP","general.t-mobile.uk","0.0.0.0",0,0

    once the correct info is confirm the correct APN is loaded into the "+CGDCONT: 1 "
    and a dial command is sent, usually *99#

    Can you post the results of the last commands

    then I will post what actions you can do to achieve a connection and monitor the pppd

    regards

    alexfish

    PS will look at NM side later
    Last edited by alexfish; September 28th, 2010 at 10:14 AM. Reason: PIN NUMBER
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    7

    Re: pppd issue with sakis3g

    echo -e "AT+COPS?\r" > /dev/ttyUSB0
    +COPS: 0,0,"T-Mobile Austria",2

    echo -e "
    AT+COPS=?\r" > /dev/ttyUSB0
    +COPS: (2,"T-Mobile Austria","TMA","23203",2),(1,"3 AT","3 AT","23210",2),(3,"A1","A1","23201",2),(1,"T-Mobile Austria","TMA","23203",0),(3,"one","one","23205",0 ),(3,"A1","A1","23201",0),(3,"one","one","23205",2 ),,(0,1,2,3,4),(0,1,2)

    echo -e "AT+CGDCONT?\r" > /dev/ttyUSB0
    +CGDCONT: 1,"IP","gprsinternet","",0,0
    +CGDCONT: 2,"IP","business.gprsinternet","",0,0



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •