Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Multi Function Printer Problem

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Multi Function Printer Problem

Hello Everyone. I'm new to Ubuntu and I'm having real problems getting my Epson DX7450 to scan. It prints okay. I've googled and searched lots of forums and I'm not really having a great deal of success. I keep getting sent to the Avansys page and then I just get lost If someone could please help me, I will be eternally grateful. Thank you very much. Please be gentle with me as I'm a newbie!!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Re: Multi Function Printer Problem

Quote Originally Posted by Skyline911 View Post
    I keep getting sent to the Avansys page and then I just get lost
    So did I!

Anyway, I found this bug report:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ds/+bug/385505

Which is marked as a duplicate of this:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ds/+bug/377977

If I read that correctly, simply adding "usb 0x4b8 0x838" to the file /etc/sane.d/epson2.conf solves the problem. Before I tell you how to do that - it's very easy - let's just check what's in that file. Open a terminal (Applications > Accessories) and run this command:

Code:
    cat /etc/sane.d/epson2.conf
    Copy and paste the output from the terminal into the message field to post it. I want to make sure your epson2.conf hasn't changed from the default before we go any further.
    Ubuntu 20.04 Desktop Guide - Ubuntu 22.04 Desktop Guide - Forum Guide to BBCode - Using BBCode code tags

Member: Not Canonical Team

If you need help with your forum account, such as SSO login issues, username changes, etc, the correct place to contact an admin is here. Please do not PM me about these matters unless you have been asked to - unsolicited PMs concerning forum accounts will be ignored.

Beans
    Distro

Hi Coffeecat. Thank you so much for responding so quickly. I have done as you say and this is the result:

# epson2.conf
    #