Thread: usb modem newbie help

Beans

usb modem newbie help

Hi guys I'm a complete newbie to linux i,m running ubuntu 10.04 and i cant connect with 3g modem.I've tried with vodafone and 3 ireland.THE SOFTWARE ICON IS ON SCREEN WITH BOTH MODEMS but when i try to run they cant find autorun files is there a comand to run these files their in media/3connect/autorun.exe.do i need permissions or something ?bear in mind im a complete novice at this any advice would be very much appreciated, mark

Beans

Re: usb modem newbie help

Why do you need to run the windows software? You should be able to set up a connection in network manager.
    There's no place like ~/

pricetech is offline Iced Blended Vanilla Crème Ubuntu
    Beans

windows software doesn't run in Linux.

See if you can get the modem to work. If not, try searching the forums and the web for others with the same modem who may have it working.

Also check the vendor's website.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by pricetech View Post
    windows software doesn't run in Linux.

See if you can get the modem to work. If not, try searching the forums and the web for others with the same modem who may have it working.

Also check the vendor's website.
    Honestly, this is the type of issue that does not encourage ordinary people to use any flavour of Linux. I installed Ubuntu on my Samsung NC10 netbook, alongside Windows XP. Mobile broadband with USB Modems is commonplace - just look around everywhere and you see people using it. I have been struggling to get mine to work with Ubuntu. There is the "Network Connections" which allows me to set up the parameters under the "Mobile Broadband" tab. It recognises my device, but there is nothing to click to actually connect. Yes - you have a window that lets you enter the relevant parameters, but does not have a "Connect" button.