Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Did something wrong, very wrong installing BURG

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Beans
    342
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Angry [SOLVED] Did something wrong, very wrong installing BURG

    Thought BURG would be cool so I installed it. Something is very wrong. (See attached photos) all I get is the 1st photo, BURG version 1.98+20100623-1+karmic. If I tab I get photo 2.

    At this point I'd be happy just to restore GRUB2 & forget BURG but I can't even boot to any OS. I haven't had Ubuntu on this PC for long so maybe the best, or simplest option, would be to re-install Ubuntu- which would rewrite grub2.

    Please advise.

    Ubuntu 10.04 amd64 w/ Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by GARoss; September 6th, 2010 at 05:19 AM. Reason: SOLVED

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Did something wrong, very wrong installing BURG

    You probably just need to reinstall grub to the MBR.

    But to know exactly what is where.
    Boot Info Script courtesy of forum member meierfra
    Page with instructions and download:
    http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/
    Paste results.txt, then highlight entire file and click on # in edit panel(code tags) to make it easier to read.
    Or You can generate the tags first by pressing the # icon in the post's menu and then paste the contents between the generated [ code][ /code] tags.

    To reinstall grub2.
    How to restore the Ubuntu/XP/Vista/7 bootloader (Updated for Ubuntu 9.10)
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1014708
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Gr...0from%20LiveCD
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    in the linux world
    Beans
    554
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Did something wrong, very wrong installing BURG

    put in your live cd (any live cd)

    if ubuntu is your only os:

    in a terminal type sudo grub-install /dev/sda && sudo update-grub
    if you need a fast live cd for testing or anything really:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...70#post9715370
    boots live in just 82MB of ram, no swap!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Beans
    342
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Did something wrong, very wrong installing BURG

    Thanks. I cannot boot into Ubuntu at all. With the install CD I can boot to the Try Ubuntu desktop.

    I can boot Win 7 by typing grub> exit then enter key.

    I have Ubuntu 10.04 amd64 w/ Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit installed on separate HDDs (there's 3 HDDs total). I'm not sure which section Ubuntu is installed. Would sudo grub-install /dev/sda && sudo update-grub still be correct?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    in the linux world
    Beans
    554
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Did something wrong, very wrong installing BURG

    take out every non-ubuntu HDD, then run the commands, unless you mean partitions, in which case show a screenshot with gparted or post the boot info script
    if you need a fast live cd for testing or anything really:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...70#post9715370
    boots live in just 82MB of ram, no swap!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Beans
    342
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Did something wrong, very wrong installing BURG

    Thanks,
    I checked & Ubuntu is installed on sda1. So in a terminal, do I type sudo grub-install /dev/sda1 && sudo update-grub or as you originally said, sudo grub-install /dev/sda && sudo update-grub?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    in the linux world
    Beans
    554
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Did something wrong, very wrong installing BURG

    sda1 or sda, it doesn't matter because if no number is specified it defaults to sda1
    if you need a fast live cd for testing or anything really:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...70#post9715370
    boots live in just 82MB of ram, no swap!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Did something wrong, very wrong installing BURG

    Unless you are using some other boot loader you do not want to install grub to a partition like sda1. You install grub to sda, sdb or sdc and it is usually better to have grub's boot loader in the MBR of the same drive as the Ubuntu install.

    How to restore the Ubuntu/XP/Vista/7 bootloader (Updated for Ubuntu 9.10)
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1014708
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Gr...0from%20LiveCD
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Beans
    342
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Did something wrong, very wrong installing BURG

    Quote Originally Posted by linux18 View Post
    sda1 or sda, it doesn't matter because if no number is specified it defaults to sda1
    Tried it both ways from the Live CD but it cannot find the file. It says it doesn't exist. I suspect it's because I cannot access grub from the LIVE CDs terminal & I cannot figure out how to navigate to it from the terminal.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    in the linux world
    Beans
    554
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Did something wrong, very wrong installing BURG

    type df into a trminal and post that
    if you need a fast live cd for testing or anything really:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...70#post9715370
    boots live in just 82MB of ram, no swap!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •