Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Bad fstab will not boot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    87

    Red face Bad fstab will not boot

    Ok, I made a mistake in my fstab. I know what the problem is and how the fstab needs to be changed. However, since the system will not boot I'm having diffeculty getting in to edit it.

    The system is running Ubuntu 10.4 64 Bit with LVM2.

    I have both 10.4 64Bit Server and 10.4 32Bit Desktop cds currently and could burn others if needed.

    With 32Bit Desktop I'm able to get to a live cd prompt but my hard disks are not mounted.

    if I try mounting /dev/sda5 to a dummy directory I created it tells me it doesn't know the type of 'LVM2_member'.
    Do you Ubuntu?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    186
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Bad fstab will not boot

    Mounting LVM partitions is a slightly different process. This post outlines how to do it: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...08&postcount=2
    -Tipo

    A job lost to software piracy could have been yours after graduation...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    87

    Re: Bad fstab will not boot

    Thanks for the clue Tipo.

    However, I encountered a problem.

    After reading your recommended post I came up with the following commands (volume name changed).

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install LVM2
    sudo lvm lvdisplay -m
    sudo mount /dev/mapper/VOLA-root /mnt/work
    The response
    Code:
    mount: special device /dev/mapper/VOLA-root does not exist
    I did make one change and not reboot as I'm essentially running on a live cd. However, I was able to use the lvm command to display my logical volumes.

    Any more clues?
    Do you Ubuntu?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    186
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Bad fstab will not boot

    Quote Originally Posted by TennTux View Post

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install LVM2
    sudo lvm lvdisplay -m
    sudo mount /dev/mapper/VOLA-root /mnt/work
    The response
    Code:
    mount: special device /dev/mapper/VOLA-root does not exist
    I did make one change and not reboot as I'm essentially running on a live cd. However, I was able to use the lvm command to display my logical volumes.

    Any more clues?
    Hmm, is 'mapper' the name of your VolumeGroup? Mine looks like so:

    Code:
    LV Name    /dev/vg_ubuntu/lv_root
    First, lets try activating the LVM group

    Code:
    sudo vgchange -ay vg_ubuntu
    # then mount like this
    sudo mount /dev/vg_linux/lv_root /mnt/work
    The -ay in the vgchange command basically means 'available yes', which lets the kernel know your LV is there.
    Last edited by Tipo; September 3rd, 2010 at 03:06 PM.
    -Tipo

    A job lost to software piracy could have been yours after graduation...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    87

    Re: Bad fstab will not boot

    Quote Originally Posted by Tipo View Post
    Hmm, is 'mapper' the name of your VolumeGroup? Mine looks like so:

    Code:
    LV Name    /dev/vg_ubuntu/lv_root
    In my posts here I am using VOLA as my volume group. And the logical volume I need access to is root. To use your format mine would be:
    Code:
    LV Name    /dev/VOLA/root
    In my post I used /dev/mapper/VOLA-root because the post you referenced used the /dev/mapper followed by VolumeGroup-LogicalVolume.

    When I tried it and it failed, I tried several other variations including the mount you suggested, however, I didn't do the vgchange. I will try it again just to be sure but I need to boot the system and redo the install of LVM2 as I'm basicly booted on a live cd (not persistent).

    Just to refresh our memory. I added a bad line to my /etc/fstab file that I either need to remove or edit to be correct. So I'm trying to get access to the root of my system from a live cd.
    Do you Ubuntu?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    87

    Smile Re: Bad fstab will not boot

    Houston, we have lift-off.

    It seems the trick was from a live cd boot I needed to tell the kernal to recognize the Volume Group with the vgchange command.

    To summerize the working solution for those that follow.

    VOLA = Volume Group
    root = Logical Volume

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install LVM2
    sudo lvm lvdisplay -m
    sudo vgchange -ay VOLA
    sudo mkdir /mnt/work
    sudo mount /dev/mapper/VOLA-root /mnt/work
    Thanks again Tipo.
    Do you Ubuntu?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •