Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NVIDIA 7300LE. No GUI. Terminal Screen

Beans
    Hidden!

NVIDIA 7300LE. No GUI. Terminal Screen

Hi All,

I am new to Ubuntu 10.04 lucid lynx, and just started using recently. I want to create a HTPC using a Dell Dimension 9150 with LIRC, MythTV, and XBMC. I have searched the forums with no luck as to solve the issue so I hope someone can help.

I intalled XBMC to find that the mouse pointer wasnt moving correctly (sorta jerky, delayed movement), and I read on WIKI in the HOWTO that I should install the Nvidia drivers in the terminal.

I did this and as soon as I rebooted I got the black terminal screen prompting me to login but with no GUI. So far I have been following this thread below (This problem also occurred when I tried to turn on the desktop effects to enhanced whereby Ubuntu prompts you to update the display drivers):

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1140291&page=3

I believe I need to reconfigure the Xserver? or do something like "sudo nvidia-xorg.conf" but I have tried most of the commands in the above thread with no luck. Finally I tried "sudo rm-nvida" (or something along those lines) to prompt the removal of the drivers, but the terminal still comes up and now when I try "startx" it gives me a blank screen and my monitor says "no Input".

sorry about the lack of details in term of the commands I have used I'm still really new. Can someone help please? I am at my whits end

Beans

Re: NVIDIA 7300LE. No GUI. Terminal Screen

Troubleshooting video problems can be a real pain in the rear and I don't have the experience to help with that, but no one else has given any advice, so...