Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Oops?

Beans

Oops?

I have a 400GB hard drive. I have 2 partitions, primary is my XP part (which has about 354GB) and the secondary is my 7 part (I made this to test out windows 7 when it was in beta) which is about 45GB. Today, I decide to scrap my 7 partition to test out Ubuntu once again (hey, haven't used it years). On my XP partition is where I keep all of my pictures, music, movies, you name it, even when on 7 I'd change the libraries to my primary partition.

So I decide to install Ubuntu, and I change the settings so it takes over the 7 partition. It installs fine, I run some updates, connect to the internet, install drivers, etc. However, I try to access my XP partition, or what I assume is it, (It's labeled simply as 354GB filesystem) but I get an error. "Unable to mount location." I've included a screenshot of the error.

I'm ashamed to admit I'm a huge noob when it comes to Linux, so any help would be appreciated. My hard drive (according to sysinfo) is a WDC WD4000KD-00N (400GB SATA).
    Last edited by 3meister; August 26th, 2010 at 11:11 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Re: Oops?

Have you tried following the error?

Boot into windows and run the checkdisk utility from there?

cmd, chkdisk /f, reboot twice

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by ironic.demise View Post
    Have you tried following the error?

Boot into windows and run the checkdisk utility from there?

cmd, chkdisk /f, reboot twice
    The problem is that I can't boot into windows. It does not have the boot options, it simply boots into Ubuntu.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

looks like you destroyed your partition...
    thats bad... download GParted with Ubuntu and look if there the partitions are okay
    PS: If you are new to Ubuntu, you should install it with Wubi
    Yours,
    Daniel
    Founder of Ubuntu Austria LoCo
    If you need GERMAN support, post here!
    Council member of Ubuntu Youth.

Beans
    Distro