Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Setup server to connect from anywhere??

Beans

Setup server to connect from anywhere??

My ubuntu server is setup as dhcp and i can connect to it from my laptop running ubuntu, so i've been putting files on it, and organizing them. (btw i prefixed this as kubuntu because i installed kubuntu graphical interface)

I should setup static though right? Once i leave for school and my server is here in this different city will i still be able to connect to it? I was looking at guides for setting up static ip, and the ip I would use is 192.168.0.103 which is how my linksys router had it setup. That only works inside of my house though right? I want to be able to connect to it from school (a different city) so how should I do that?

I'd also like to be able to connect to it from windows xp as well if possible

I'm a complete ip noob. lol. Thanks for any help in advance

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Setup server to connect from anywhere??

For starters you should install openssh and use key authentication instead of username and password. Then you need to setup port forwarding through your router and forward port 22 (or whichever you choose to use, 22 is default) to ip that you set for router! IE: port 22 is forwarded to 192.168.0.103. Now let me explain, that address 192.168.0.103 is whats called a private ipaddress. You have a public ip address that the rest of the world sees. So if you go to your router status you should see your public ip which will be something completely different from your private.
    SO.....
    private = 192.168.0.103
    public = 65.345.87.32 (or whatever yours is)

Once you have ssh and port forwarding setup you will be able to reach your server from anywhere in the world by using the ssh command:

Code:
    ssh <username>@<public-ip>
    or like this
    Code:
     ssh stlsaint@65.345.87.32