Thread: synaptics touchpad issue

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu

synaptics touchpad issue

This is my first post. I'm completely new to this.

I just got an HP-DV6-3048TX, a laptop that comes with a synaptics touchpad. I have Windows 7 Pro 64 bits on one partition and Kubuntu 10.4 on another partition, with Kubuntu intalled from DVD on the "largest available diskspace" (thus letting Kubuntu create the required extended partitions automatically). So far, I cannot report too many problems, except related to my attempts to configure the touchpad.

I hate the touchpad. It's got several problems, let me list them:

1) it's big, so my palm and fingers touch it repeatedly while typing, sending the pointer all over the place,

2) the left- and right-click buttons are made of touchpad material, so that when I click the pointer is first displaced as though I had stroked the touchpad, with the result that I miss the target most of the time.

3) I have found it quite difficult to configure.

I have so far tried to play around with the settings in:
    System Settings / Keyboard & Mouse / Touchpad
    System Settings / Keyboard & Mouse / Mouse

I don't seem to be able to find an optimal combination of parameters. I'd appreciate if someone would share their optimal choice of options, especially the Advanced Settings in the Mouse Settings. (In Windows7 I did find a nearly suitable combination, disabling scrolling, tapping, and so on, while making the mouse very insensitive but the speed fast, weird but second best -- first best being the old-fashioned touchpad with mechanical buttons)

I just can't find the right combination of options. Let me list my current selections (arrived at by a random process).
    Advanced Mouse Settings:
    pointer acceleration: 2.0x
    pointer threshold: 4 pixels
    double-click interval: 200 msec
    drag start time: 200 msec
    drag start distance: 4 pixels
    mouse wheels scrolls by: 5 lines
    Touchpad Settings:
    General: on,