Thread: Absolute Beginners Beginnnig Question

Beans

Absolute Beginners Beginnnig Question

I have an old Sony Vaio Desktop from 2001.
    I have installed Ubuntu and I have several questions.

The computer has 124 megs of memory and has one hard drive of about 100 gigs. Is Ubuntu the best choice for a Linux distribution? It seems to run a little slowly.

How do I set up internet connection? I launched FireFox and I tried a few web sites. I have not tested the new connection to my router. I would like to try to see if the software is set up before I test my cable connection on my other computer. How do I do this?

I have an old Lexmark all-in-one printer that had worked with the old Windows XP OS. How do I get a printer driver for Ubuntu?

Beans

Re: Absolute Beginners Beginnnig Question

124MB is way to small for ubuntu. 10.04, the newest version, recommends 1GB. Even Lubuntu (which is the lightest version of ubuntu) wont like 124MB of RAM. It should run a lot better than ubuntu, but still, 124MB is pretty small.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Ubuntu 10.04 wont install easily with 256mg RAM so it wont install on less.

100 gb is a good size hdd.

If you want to try an Ubuntu type OS try Lubuntu. If not you could try something like Damn Small Linux (DSL).

To help you with your other questions we really need to know your hardware. Read this sticky and that will give you an idea of the information we will need and how you can supply it for us.
    Ubuntu User 23142 | Wiki | Laptop | HowTo:Create a background slideshow and Screensaver | Reconditioning pre-loved PCs and installing Ubuntu to give away to good homes.

Beans

http://blog.taragana.com/index.php/a...linux-distros/