Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Too many updates!

Beans

Smile Too many updates!

I am not a software professional - but have been using computers for quite some time now. Started using Linux a couple of years back, and am really impressed. I installed Ubuntu 10.04 in early May. I also installed some programs to test out - and some games for pre-school kids. The kids love it too.

In less than 2 months I have already downloaded more than 700Mb of updates of all sorts. (the original cd was only about 700Mb)

My question is this. Why are there so many updates and so frequently? I can understand "security updates" - but why so frequently? Moreover, I doubt if any of the updates has any improved functions or features.

Is it not possible to stop updates till a new version or new features is made or an old feature has significant improvements?

As an outsider, the only inference I can draw is - the releases are done without much thought to quality. (Just as I am typing this I get a message that "Firefox" has a new version! - there was a version change just weeks back)

Secondly, I do get the feeling that the programs are becoming too bulky.. (which in turn is slowing down he system) with too many frills which does nothing to enhance the "utility" or "usability" of the programs.

This is the only negative feeling in 2 years, otherwise, there has been some good improvements in feel and looks, besides in the installation etc.. I would like to know if these are common feelings, or is it my ignorance about the nitty gritties ?

- cr4321

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Too many updates!