Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3

Beans

error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3

I'm trying to run the Linux version of Return to Castle Wolfenstein, but I get the following errors:
    Code:
    clevelandrock@Centurion:~$ wolf
    ./wolf.x86: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    clevelandrock@Centurion:~$ apt-file search libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3
    clevelandrock@Centurion:~$ uname -a
    Linux Centurion 2.6.32-23-generic #37-Ubuntu SMP Fri Jun 11 07:54:58 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux
    clevelandrock@Centurion:~$ lsb_release -a
    No LSB modules are available.
    Distributor ID:    Ubuntu
    Description:    Ubuntu 10.04 LTS
    Release:    10.04
    Codename:    lucid
    clevelandrock@Centurion:~$
    This thread did not seem to help.

Any ideas? Try not to confuse me; I'm no expert. Thanks in advance.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Re: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3

Go to page http://packages.debian.org/etch/libs...B2.10-glibc2.2 and from the table with heading `Download libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2' select the appropriate for your architecture package. From what I saw in your post, this is the `i386' link.

After you have downloaded the package file (a .deb file), open a terminal window and type:
    Code:
    cd <path-to-directory-where-the-deb-is>
    sudo dpkg -i <name-of-the-deb-file>
    You 'll have of course to put the real path and name in the placeholders.
    To suppress free speech is a double wrong. It violates the rights of the hearer as well as those of the speaker.
    Free Software - Free Society | The GNU Project | FSF | ESP

Beans

@gzarkadas:
    I get a 404 error trying to download the package from any of the mirrors.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala