Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: No Sound - Pulseaudio does not show device

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    No Sound - Pulseaudio does not show device

    I have a Toshiba U500 where the sound has been lost since the upgrade to Ubuntu 10.04 - Lucid Lynx.

    The sound works when using aplay. The sound device is not listed in pulseaudio. See attached image.
    I have been through the following setup "HOWTO: PulseAudio Fixes & System-Wide Equalizer Support" http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...ferrerid=80902.

    When I do
    Code:
    test@ubuntu-lucid:~$ aplay -l
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    Home directory /home/test not ours.
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC269 Analog [ALC269 Analog]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC269 Digital [ALC269 Digital]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: ATI HDMI [ATI HDMI]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    I get all the devices. To me this means that the device is recognized.

    And using the command
    Code:
    test@ubuntu-lucid:~$ aplay -Dplughw:0,0 -fcd Downloads/assume.wav 
    Warning: format is changed to U8
    Playing WAVE 'Downloads/assume.wav' : Unsigned 8 bit, Rate 11025 Hz, Mono
    plays nicely.

    Other print-outs are:

    Code:
    dpkg -l | grep "alsa"
    ii  alsa-base                             1.0.22.1+dfsg-0ubuntu3                          ALSA driver configuration files
    ii  alsa-oss                              1.0.17-3                                        ALSA wrapper for OSS applications
    ii  alsa-utils                            1.0.22-0ubuntu5                                 ALSA utilities
    ii  bluez-alsa                            4.60-0ubuntu8                                   Bluetooth audio support
    ii  gstreamer0.10-alsa                    0.10.28-1                                       GStreamer plugin for ALSA
    ii  libsox-fmt-alsa                       14.3.0-1.1build1                                SoX alsa format I/O library
    For the below command, only the sound related are shown
    Code:
    sudo lspci -v 
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
    	Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff41
    	Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 22
    	Memory at fddf8000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    	Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
    	Capabilities: [60] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
    	Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
    	Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel <?>
    	Capabilities: [130] Root Complex Link <?>
    	Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
    	Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel
    
    08:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc RV710/730
    	Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff40
    	Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17
    	Memory at febec000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    	Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
    	Capabilities: [58] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
    	Capabilities: [a0] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
    	Capabilities: [100] Vendor Specific Information <?>
    	Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
    	Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel

    Code:
    test@ubuntu-lucid:~$ fgrep -ie 'audio' /etc/group
    audio:x:29:pulse
    On another laptop with a similar problem
    Code:
    sudo alsa force-reload
    used to force the devices to show up and in this case it does not work.

    Any tips? Is it an issue with pulseaudio or with ALSA?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,905
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: No Sound - Pulseaudio does not show device

    Have you tried this:
    Using a Terminal="Applications->Accessories->Terminal"
    Code:
    rm -r ~/.pulse ~/.asound* 
    sudo rm /etc/asound.conf
    Logout/in.

    Check the permissions on your user folder also.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: No Sound - Pulseaudio does not show device

    Thank you

    The use of these commands are in "HOWTO: PulseAudio Fixes & System-Wide Equalizer Support". So it had been done once
    Code:
    rm -r ~/.pulse ~/.asound* 
    sudo rm /etc/asound.conf
    In this case the .pulse directory existed and deleted. The other dir or file did not exist.

    No result on this one.

    I think I need to force pulseaudio to recognize all the devices.

    Regarding the permission, I do not understand what is expected, as this is something I have not changed.
    Code:
    drwxr-xr-x 72 test test  4096 2010-06-26 07:22 test
    Last edited by reef2dive; June 26th, 2010 at 06:31 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: No Sound - Pulseaudio does not show device

    When using the live Ubuntu 9.10, the sound works fine. All devices are recognized.
    I have been checking all files related to the sound setup and they look the same. The only difference is that the start of pulseaudio is difference in 10.04 is the start-up.

    When comparing the pulseaudio setup using [pacmd - Reconfigure a PulseAudio sound server during runtime
    ]
    Code:
    pacmd
    For 10.04, the result is
    Code:
    >>> list-cards
    1 card(s) available.
        index: 0
    	name: <alsa_card.pci-0000_08_00.1>
    	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
    	owner module: 4
    	properties:
    		alsa.card = "1"
    		alsa.card_name = "HDA ATI HDMI"
    		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA ATI HDMI at 0xfebec000 irq 17"
    		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
    		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:08:00.1"
    		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:08:00.1/sound/card1
    "
    		device.bus = "pci"
    		device.vendor.id = "1002"
    		device.vendor.name = "ATI Technologies Inc"
    		device.product.id = "aa38"
    		device.product.name = "RV710/730"
    		device.string = "1"
    		device.description = "RV710/730"
    		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
    		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
    	profiles:
    		output:hdmi-stereo: Digital Stereo (HDMI) Output (priority 5400)
    		off: Off (priority 0)
    	active profile: <output:hdmi-stereo>
    	sinks:
    		alsa_output.pci-0000_08_00.1.hdmi-stereo/#0: RV710/730 Digital Stereo (HDMI)
    
    	sources:
    		alsa_output.pci-0000_08_00.1.hdmi-stereo.monitor/#0: Monitor of RV710/730 Digital Stereo (HDMI)
    while the same command in 9.10 live version gives
    Code:
    >>> list-cards
    2 card(s) available.
        index: 0
    	name: <alsa_card.pci-0000_08_00.1>
    	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
    	owner module: 4
    	properties:
    		alsa.card = "1"
    		alsa.card_name = "HDA ATI HDMI"
    		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA ATI HDMI at 0xfebec000 irq 17"
    		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
    		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:08:00.1"
    		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:08:00.1/sound/card1"
    		device.bus = "pci"
    		device.vendor.id = "1002"
    		device.vendor.name = "ATI Technologies Inc"
    		device.product.id = "aa38"
    		device.product.name = "R700 Audio Device [Radeon HD 4000 Series]"
    		device.string = "1"
    		device.description = "R700 Audio Device [Radeon HD 4000 Series]"
    
    		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
    		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
    	profiles:
    		output:hdmi-stereo: Digital Stereo (HDMI) Output (priority 5400)
    		off: Off (priority 0)
    	active profile: <output:hdmi-stereo>
    	sinks:
    		alsa_output.pci-0000_08_00.1.hdmi-stereo/#0: R700 Audio Device [Radeon HD 4000 Series] Digital Stereo (HDMI)
    	sources:
    		alsa_output.pci-0000_08_00.1.hdmi-stereo.monitor/#0: Monitor of R700 Audio Device [Radeon HD 4000 Series] Digital Stereo (HDMI)
        index: 1
    	name: <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_1b.0>
    	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
    	owner module: 5
    	properties:
    		alsa.card = "0"
    		alsa.card_name = "HDA Intel"
    		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA Intel at 0xfddf8000 irq 22"
    		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
    		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:1b.0"
    		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0"
    		device.bus = "pci"
    		device.vendor.id = "8086"
    		device.vendor.name = "Intel Corporation"
    		device.product.id = "293e"
    		device.product.name = "82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller"
    		device.form_factor = "internal"
    		device.string = "0"
    		device.description = "Internal Audio"
    		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
    		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
    	profiles:
    		output:analog-stereo: Analog Stereo Output (priority 6000)
    		output:analog-stereo+input:analog-stereo: Analog Stereo Duplex (priority 6060)
    		output:iec958-stereo: Digital Stereo Duplex (IEC958) (priority 5500)
    		output:iec958-stereo+input:analog-stereo: Digital Stereo (IEC958) Output + Analog Stereo Input (priority 5560)
    		input:analog-stereo: Analog Stereo Input (priority 60)
    		off: Off (priority 0)
    	active profile: <output:analog-stereo+input:analog-stereo>
    	sinks:
    		alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo/#1: Internal Audio Analog Stereo
    	sources:
    		alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo.monitor/#1: Monitor of Internal Audio Analog Stereo
    		alsa_input.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo/#2: Internal Audio Analog Stereo
    There is a difference in the start-up of pulseaudio in 10.04 vs. 9.10. There is a start-up file in
    Code:
    /etc/xdg
    in 10.04.
    Is there any information how the start-up of pulseaudio actually works in Ubuntu?
    Is there any command where I can force the card to be loaded in pulseaudio?
    Last edited by reef2dive; August 3rd, 2010 at 06:12 AM. Reason: Updated information

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: No Sound - Pulseaudio does not show device

    Found the issue with great support.
    Code:
    echo autospawn = no >> ~/.pulse/client.conf
    killall pulseaudio
    LANG=C pulseaudio -vvvv > ~/pulseverbose.log 2>&1
    and
    Code:
    sudo fuser -v /dev/snd/*
    made me found conflicting applications at boot

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,905
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: No Sound - Pulseaudio does not show device

    If you don't mind telling us what the conflict was and how you resolved it?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: No Sound - Pulseaudio does not show device

    The application that interfered with pulseaudio, was randomsound through arecord. Apparently in the bootup randomsound locks the device prior to pulseaudio.
    Randomsound was removed through apt, and it fixed the problem.

    Maybe it is possible to change the order at boot.
    (Randomsound makes a big difference in the entropy-pool on this machine)
    Last edited by reef2dive; August 9th, 2010 at 01:12 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    218

    Re: No Sound - Pulseaudio does not show device

    i have nearly the same issue but in my case i did not have randomsound installed.

    i have recently updated maverick beta. the first days after beta install my onboard soundcard and my hdmi device of my gt220 where found by pulse. after some updates suddendly i observed no sound. in the list of found device only my onboard sound was found (and my dvb-s card).

    aply -l showed all cards, so did aslamixer.

    i found out that there are 2 ways to get sound back:
    1. log out, log in as a different user (must be a different one!), log out again and login to the first one. (it does not matter if you do the same with both users switched. it must be a user change)

    2. killall pulsaudio being logged in and restart it.

    i tried as it has been suggested here to find conflicting programms but there is nothing to be found.

    any idea?

    EDIT: i thought about what i had different to my previous ubuntu 9.10 setup. i have a java app starting automatically uppon login. this time im using openjava where i previously used sun. i removed the autostart of the java programm and ... tada... hdmi device found.

    is there anyway to control te order of startupprogramms duing login? or any other idea how tto prevent such problems?

    ED: well i tried using sun-java (had to add lucid partner repo -.-) but same happens. so it does not matter what java engine is used. but starting it during login automatically provokes the issue.
    Last edited by a-user; September 9th, 2010 at 01:12 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •