Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 71

Thread: Floppy Drive Question

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Beans
    82
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Floppy Drive Question

    Some additional things I've found, with a test floppy disk in the drive:

    These disk formatting commands appear to work:
    Code:
    sudo mformat -f 1440 A:
    sudo fdformat /dev/fd0
    Code:
    sudo fdlist
    produces this output:
    Code:
    NAME   TYPE  STATUS
     fd0  1440K  not mounted
    Code:
    sudo fdmount
    produces this output:
    Code:
    fdmount (/dev/fd0): Can't access /fd0: No such file or directory
    It looks to me like things fail at the point of mounting the disk. I'm not sure how to proceed.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Floppy Drive Question

    I reinstaled my ubuntu 10.04 ,before update floppy worked fine but when i press update (Approximately 200MB) again i have error

    -Unable to mount floppy No media in drive-

    so problem is in update 100%,but what ?

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Beans
    82
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Floppy Drive Question

    There's considerably more information here:
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...5?comments=all

    In short, the Ubuntu team is aware of the problem, but it's not an easy bug to fix.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Vratimov, Czech Republic
    Beans
    1
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Floppy Drive Question

    Hi all,

    this solution is working for my Xubuntu 10.04: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...5/comments/227

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Floppy Drive Question

    YES This work

    For all others you nead to down grade you udisks with synaptic

    i change from udisks (1.0.1-1build1) lucid update
    to udisks (1.0.1-1build1) lucid


  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    K-o-T,
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Floppy Drive Question

    Quote Originally Posted by lubigor View Post
    yes this work

    for all others you nead to down grade you udisks with synaptic

    i change from udisks (1.0.1-1build1) lucid update
    to udisks (1.0.1-1build1) lucid

    )))
    +1 for me too
    Hypertension = Take with a pinch of salt
    | Psychocats | Ubuntu Documentation | Howto [Solved] | BBcode list | Brother Website |

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of I-10 Louisiana
    Beans
    89
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Floppy Drive Question

    lubigor & plucky....thanks for the fix !. Was able to mount the floppy & read (open ) two floppy disks & review the data.
    For those who may ask...go to synaptic, open it, & type in "udisks". The result will show you probably "udisks(1.0.1-1ubuntu1)". Select properties & go to versions header, select the "1build1" package & go back to package header & select "force version" option....proceed as usual & it will install. Go to places & click on the floppy & it should mount!
    I don't know if the floppy will have to be re-mounted each use or not, but it will be a "work-around", hope it won't be lost with upgrades...but may have to be vigilant.....Thanks guys......"G"
    Last edited by bayouoldguy; June 29th, 2010 at 10:31 PM. Reason: ps: will post "solved" if no other problems arise...
    Dell Optiplex 960 dual boot Windows 7; Windows 10 .Dell D620 Ubuntu 18.04 LTS , slow. Dell Latitude E6430 windows 10 , to install Ubuntu dual boot. Microsoft control over Windows functions disrupting installs "free-ware" enjoyable options.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of I-10 Louisiana
    Beans
    89
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Floppy Drive Question ( SOLVED )

    Lets give credit to RiP13 ! The re-boot un-mounts the floppy, & you need to have a floppy in the drive to mount it...." Places...floppy disk" At least its a working solution to those who want to view old data..."G"
    Dell Optiplex 960 dual boot Windows 7; Windows 10 .Dell D620 Ubuntu 18.04 LTS , slow. Dell Latitude E6430 windows 10 , to install Ubuntu dual boot. Microsoft control over Windows functions disrupting installs "free-ware" enjoyable options.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of I-10 Louisiana
    Beans
    89
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Floppy Drive Question

    To all interested floppy users !....Ubuntu Update Manager will attempt to update udisks package....if you permit, it will revert to (1.0.1-1ubuntu1) , revised in a boot correction version.
    You will need to "lock in" the version in your Synaptic Package Manager to prevent any updates to your "downgraded version , (1.0.1-1build1).
    ....never a "dull" moment in computers !!!!......."G"
    Dell Optiplex 960 dual boot Windows 7; Windows 10 .Dell D620 Ubuntu 18.04 LTS , slow. Dell Latitude E6430 windows 10 , to install Ubuntu dual boot. Microsoft control over Windows functions disrupting installs "free-ware" enjoyable options.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    108

    Re: Floppy Drive Question

    Quote Originally Posted by lubigor View Post
    YES This work

    For all others you nead to down grade you udisks with synaptic

    i change from udisks (1.0.1-1build1) lucid update
    to udisks (1.0.1-1build1) lucid

    But doesn't this bring back the original problem of trying to mount a nonexistent floppy? I'm sure most of you are thinking that you either have a floppy drive and downgrade udisks or don't have a floppy drive and leave it alone. My problem is sometimes I have a floppy drive and sometimes I don't. It's a laptop and the drive is removable. I admit I don't use it much but I needed to make a BIOS update disk yesterday and guess what I had to do. Yep, I had to use Windows. I get the message,"Unable to mount floppy No media in drive" when I try to mount a floppy.

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •