Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Hardware question, Cable Box - TV Card

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Naperville, IL
    Beans
    2
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Cool Hardware question, Cable Box - TV Card

    I'm looking to set up Mythbuntu and want some guidance as to the correct hardware to use as some elements of my configuration will change.

    Previously, I've had a Hauppauge PVR 150 working with MythTV connected directly to my cable (WOW - Wide Open West, Chicago) service with no cable box.

    Now, however, I now have a digital service (not HD) using a Scientific Atlanta Explorer 4250 cable box and want to know what make / model TV/Tuner/Capture card I should use to get it working with Mythbuntu 10.04 and will I need a channel changer device?

    I'm a little stuck and confused as to what to get.

    Thoughts / commments ?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    279

    Re: Hardware question, Cable Box - TV Card

    If it has a firewire port , it is your best bet.
    Either way you can still use you pvr150 as is.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    2,337

    Re: Hardware question, Cable Box - TV Card

    Hi,

    Does your reciever have a firewire or ethernet port? If yes then maybe you can convince MythTV to use it directly.

    For example I'm using a DVB_C recorder with an ethernet port, have a simple script that does the channel changing using wget/http and VLC to stream the video into mythtv as mythtv doesn't support the streaming format that the recorder supports.

    Regards
    Ian Dobson
    Walking on water and writing software to specification is easy if they're frozen.

    My corner of the internet http://www.planet-ian.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Beans
    5,812
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Hardware question, Cable Box - TV Card

    By law US cable companies need to have a unlocked firewire port. If the box you were given is not unlocked you may have to request on from your cable operator. They have to comply.

    http://gizmodo.com/009313/fcc-requir...ll-cable-boxes
    http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/FireWire
    Last night I lay in bed looking up at the stars in the sky and I thought to myself, where the heck is the ceiling.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Naperville, IL
    Beans
    2
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Hardware question, Cable Box - TV Card

    Thanks

    I've now moved on to the fun of trying to get the channels changed to record the right channel.

    I did look at the cable box and saw a port on the front and there's one on the back. They both look like USB ports.

    This is what I have:
    http://www.scientificatlanta.com/exp...ed/4012028.pdf

    And curiously port 12 is not labeled. Would that be the firewire port? It looked a little different to the port on a Firewire card I have.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    2

    Re: Hardware question, Cable Box - TV Card

    From that drawing, 12 is also a USB port.

    I've also trying to connect this using one of my PVR-150s. I've got the S-Video connection wired, but am trying to figure out setting up the PVR-150's iR blaster to change channels on it.

    I'm stuck trying to figure out getting the channel changer script (/usr/bin/ch_chan.sh) into place to drive this thing, but it looks like the external STB setups are the way to go.

    This thread describes which LIRC script to use: http://www.gossamer-threads.com/list...v/users/368639
    Here are two MythtTV Wiki pages on using a digital cable STB and an IR blaster for channel changes:
    http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Connectin...d_To_Cable_Sat
    http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Recording_Digital_Cable

    Hope that this helps a bit.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •