Thread: Playing sound files with pc speaker?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Question Playing sound files with pc speaker?

Hello, it's my first post, as I couldn't find any anwser for that question on Google or other forums.
    I'm not sure if I'm posting in the right forum, but as I'm quite new with Ubuntu, I post there.

So someday ago when I still used mainly Windows XP, I saw an application for it that could beep with PC Speaker. I liked that idea and found out that my friend did a similar program in C++. He gave me his source code for it and I quickly started to do some music with it, or more precisely, I was just playing around with it.
    Then I have installed Xubuntu on my pendrive. I wanted to play some music on PC Speaker just for the fun. I have tried 'beep' program to check if Xubuntu even recognized the PC Speaker, but there was no sound coming out from the speaker. I thought that it could be a cause of bad output. I checked /dev/ but there's no pcspeaker in it. Then I found on Google that you would need to add driver for PC Speaker to kernel and then recompile it, but I didn't like that idea. Anyway that driver was from 1997 and there must have been a lot of changes in the kernel since then.

And now, I would to ask you, if you know a way to play sound files on a PC Speaker in Ubuntu? Do I need to recompile kernel? If yes then how to do this when I use version 2.6.32 of it? Or maybe the required drivers already compiled into it?
    I have a ASUS A7v880 motherboard.
    (Though I use Xubuntu, I choose prefix 'All variants' because as I understand, there are no differences between Ubuntu and Xubuntu except that Xubuntu has only XFCE instead of GNOME and it doesn't have Openoffice)

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Playing sound files with pc speaker?