Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Opinion: A good language for a bug reporting web app?

Hybrid View

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Opinion: A good language for a bug reporting web app?

Hello all,

At the moment I am doing an assignment on project management at Massey university all the way down in New Zealand. We have to estimate the effort required to develop bugzilla using Function Point analysis. I have already done the work, but the final part (its just for fun) is to pick a programming language that you would develop it in.

I was just wondering if anyone had opinions on the languages out there that are suited to this. I was thinking Ruby on Rails, it looks very fast with it frameworks, but i have no experience so I'm just going by what I've read about it on the net.

Any opinions out there would be greatly appreciated.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Opinion: A good language for a bug reporting web app?

Wouldn't any web application require something like PHP, at least for the server side that is.

For the client I have no idea.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

So it's basically a web application with a database backend? The main choices that would spring to mind would be:

PHP & MySQL - along with Apache, the AMP in LAMP

Ruby on Rails - again, probably integrated with Apache and MySQL. Look into Ruby Gems and package management.

Groovy/Grails - rapid development but still access to the range of APIs in Java, e.g. Hibernate for database persistence. Pick any database really.

Java EE - many permutations possible but the major paths would be JSF and EJB or Spring and Hibernate. Need application server to run - e.g. Tomcat for Spring/Hibernate, but EJB applications need full-blown application servers like Glassfish and WebSphere. EJB is really moving into the global enterprise application scale of things, i.e. sledgehammer to crack nut.

Or there's the "other side" of course ... .NET