Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 39

Thread: Install from USB drive

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    1

    Re: Install from USB drive

    Quote Originally Posted by iDonkey View Post
    I also needed to rename the isolinux.bin and isolinux.cfg files in the syslinux folder to syslinux.bin and syslinux.cfg and then it works.
    Thx this worked for me!!

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    1

    Re: Install from USB drive

    i also needed to rename the isolinux.bin and isolinux.cfg files in the syslinux folder to syslinux.bin and syslinux.cfg and then it works.
    +1

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    1

    Re: Install from USB drive

    Hi I had Similar problem (No DEFAULT od UI directive...)

    Solved: USB -Stick formatted as FAT, not as FAT32
    then I could use it as a boot stick for the following
    Hardware: EPATec 3800, 800Mhz, 256RAM, 2GB FlashDisk

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    15

    Re: Install from USB drive

    Quote Originally Posted by HerwigMacho View Post
    Hi I had Similar problem (No DEFAULT od UI directive...)

    Solved: USB -Stick formatted as FAT, not as FAT32
    then I could use it as a boot stick for the following
    Hardware: EPATec 3800, 800Mhz, 256RAM, 2GB FlashDisk
    This was the issue for me also on an old (2006) Via KT400 based system. thanks for posting.

    I needed to format the drive FAT then use pendrivelinux universal installer with the format option UNCHECKED (else it reformats in FAT32)

    So i think you must have a USB drive with capacity 2GB or 4GB to be able to format FAT16 and still have enough space for a live DVD.

    Quite a nasty cryptic error! thanks.
    Last edited by Smiff2; October 10th, 2010 at 02:43 AM.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    QD,China
    Beans
    9

    Re: Install from USB drive

    you can try to change your usb mode,such as changed to usb-hdd or usb zip,maybe the desktop doesn't support the mode you are using…

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    11

    Re: Install from USB drive

    Quote Originally Posted by HerwigMacho View Post
    Hi I had Similar problem (No DEFAULT od UI directive...)

    Solved: USB -Stick formatted as FAT, not as FAT32
    then I could use it as a boot stick for the following
    Hardware: EPATec 3800, 800Mhz, 256RAM, 2GB FlashDisk
    THIS! =D>=D>=D>

    Thanks, you rock!

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    345

    Re: Install from USB drive

    Great tip, I worked around this by formatting to FAT16 and using a 1GB partition to create my bootable USB key.
    Fabián Rodríguez
    Ubuntu Quebec LoCo Team contact, UCP, UCI

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    3

    Re: Install from USB drive

    Quote Originally Posted by nelliott71 View Post
    THIS! =D>=D>=D>

    Thanks, you rock!
    Same issue. This worked for me as well.

    On Windows 7 I formatted the USBDrive as FAT instead of FAT32 and this worked. Thanks all.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Beans
    68
    Distro
    Xubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Install from USB drive

    Quote Originally Posted by mrpilot007 View Post
    Same issue. This worked for me as well.

    On Windows 7 I formatted the USBDrive as FAT instead of FAT32 and this worked. Thanks all.
    The same problem here was also solved by formatting to FAT (I suppose it's FAT16) and not FAT32.
    It's impressive how so many errors in other Linux distros can be solved in Ubuntu forums... one would think the distro's own forums would figure it out, but they don't have a clue.
    Thanks!
    Acer 5101 - AMD Turion64 MK36 2.0GHz - ATI Radeon Xpress 1100 128MB - 1.36GB DDR2 - 60 GB HDD - Atheros AR5BMB5 802.11b/g wireless LAN
    Xubuntu 11.10 64-bit - kernel 3.0.0-12-generic - Xfce 4.8 - Firefox 7.0.1

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    221
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Install from USB drive

    what if the same error appears when I am trying CD?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •