Thread: install WINE screensaver in gnome-screensaver, possible?

Beans

install WINE screensaver in gnome-screensaver, possible?

ok, this is a curveball question I know...

There's an OSS screensaver on windows that I love called PixelCity (links:blog post, github). it's pretty cool. and it runs fine on my Ubuntu (Karmic 9.10) with wine.

Is there a way I can tell the gnome-screensaver about it so I can use it as one of my screensavers? I'm still fairly new to Gnome and the whole "screensavers as themes" thing is still confusing me...

I've found my themesdir and tried to create a .desktop file for it, but obviously I've gotten something wrong as it just doesn't show when I open the screensaver prefs dialog, no error, no message, it's just not there.

here's my pixelcity.desktop file:
    Code:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Encoding=UTF-8
    Name=PixelCity
    Comment=A 3D animation of a City at night, completely generated procedurally
    TryExec=wine /home/myuser/etc/pixelcity/pixelcity.scr /S
    Exec=wine /home/myuser/etc/pixelcity/pixelcity.scr /S
    StartupNotify=false
    Terminal=false
    Type=Application
    Categories=Screensaver;
    OnlyShowIn=GNOME;
    I've had a look on the Gnome admin guide and the desktop guide, neither of which are very helpful in terms of explaining the .desktop syntax.

It's quite likely that this can't be done, by the fact that I can run pixelcity as a fullscreen app with wine makes me think there's a possibility...

I've tried swapping to Xscreensaver, but that kills my lock-screen functionality, which is a deal breaker. I miss <super>+L too much.

Installing the xscreensaver packages added the extra screensavers I was missing, and I'm a pixelcity away from perfection...