Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 83

Thread: Atheros AR8151 ethernet not working

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Atheros AR8151 ethernet not working

    I'm still on 2.6.32.x, just updated it with the normal update manager.
    Then how come mine doens't work anymore? Is there any way to re-install or re-active the driver?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: Atheros AR8151 ethernet not working

    Quote Originally Posted by scenered View Post
    Installed 10.04 on an Acer TimelineX 3820TG but can't get the ethernet to work.

    Code:
    $ sudo lshw -C network
      *-network UNCLAIMED     
           description: Ethernet controller
           product: AR8151 v1.0 Gigabit Ethernet
           vendor: Atheros Communications
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
           version: c0
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: pm msi pciexpress vpd bus_master cap_list
           configuration: latency=0
           resources: memory:f0400000-f043ffff ioport:3000(size=128)
    Tried to add atl1e to /etc/modules with no luck.

    The driver from http://partner.atheros.com/Download.aspx?id=125 won't work either (error in script on make).

    Any suggestions?

    Hi,

    I just installed with 10.04 and I encounter the same problem you have. My system network module is Atheros AR8151 as I checked from Win 7 and ubuntu could not detect it. And I don't have Internet connection when I boot up with Ubuntu. How am I going to update the software/system?

    Thank you.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    5

    Re: Atheros AR8151 ethernet not working

    New Acer Aspire 5820T
    Dual boot Windows 7 and Kubuntu 10.04

    As described above, no ethernet (okay in Win7)
    Downloaded driver file from Acer site.
    Installed build-essentials but not linux headers-generic (note missing hyphen after linux)
    did:
    sudo apt-get install linux-headers-generic

    the kernel and the generic headers downloaded (kernel matched what I had as reported with uname -a)

    After that the sudo su/make install/modprobe worked after one failed (stalled) restart and and one good restart.

    Thanks for the good information. Has a bug report been filed?

    Conversely, my wifi is working, so that might be the solution for the question of how to get the download for linux.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    45

    Re: Atheros AR8151 ethernet not working

    Have the same machine and had the same problem. Solved it by building and installing the driver stated above. Installing build-essential was a bit hairy since there was no connection. I used keryx to download the package to a usb drive in win 7 and then installed it back in Ubuntu.

    Some notes:
    * To install build-essential: Start keryx in ubuntu. Create a new project. Ddecline updating package list from the servers. Then you may have to go Project->Update Status. Then quit and go back to win. There you use keryx to download build-essential to your project, which can then be installed when back in ubuntu by going Project->Install Packages.
    * Don't use keryx to download ubuntu updates (if you can avoid it). Sometimes keryx is messing up the dependencies - ending up not being able to run installations when back in Ubuntu.
    * Once internet connection has been established using the new driver, some proprietary drivers become available. Activating the graphics driver caused the screen to go black after reboot for me, be careful with this one. I had to reinstall Ubuntu all over. (Does anyone know any thread discussing this?)
    * The driver will have to, as stated, be reactivated when some updates are installed. You might have to run:
    Code:
    sudo modprobe -r atl1e
    sudo modprobe atl1e
    To first remove and then add the driver again.
    Last edited by worldsayshi; August 25th, 2010 at 09:33 PM.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    4

    Re: Atheros AR8151 ethernet not working

    Hi, I'm having the same problem with the Atheros AR8151 ethernet not working. My laptop is an Acer Aspire 5745G and I just installed Ubuntu 10.04.

    I've first tried to install the driver but then found out that build-essentials is not installed.

    Since I don't have any internet (wireless isn't working either) I've followed the instructions by worldsayshi and tried to install build-essentials using Keryx but I'm stuck. Ok so I've created a new project in Ubuntu but when I open it in Win7 I can't see build-essentials anywhere. Can anyone give me a helping hand?

    Thanks a lot

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    INDIA-Kerala
    Beans
    1,604
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Atheros AR8151 ethernet not working

    Can you try #7 in this thread to install build-essential?

  7. #27
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    /earth/US/Illinois
    Beans
    1,705
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Atheros AR8151 ethernet not working

    Quote Originally Posted by vc0489 View Post
    Hi, I'm having the same problem with the Atheros AR8151 ethernet not working. My laptop is an Acer Aspire 5745G and I just installed Ubuntu 10.04.

    I've first tried to install the driver but then found out that build-essentials is not installed.

    Since I don't have any internet (wireless isn't working either) I've followed the instructions by worldsayshi and tried to install build-essentials using Keryx but I'm stuck. Ok so I've created a new project in Ubuntu but when I open it in Win7 I can't see build-essentials anywhere. Can anyone give me a helping hand?

    Thanks a lot
    Did you tell Keryx to download the latest package lists?
    Dialup or no internet on your Ubuntu box? Have no fear, Keryx is here! Keryx Project
    My blog

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    nigeria
    Beans
    7
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Atheros AR8151 ethernet not working

    my latop's ethernet is an atheros and after I installed 10.04 I got it to work without problem having followed the post on this link http://tuxthink.blogspot.com/2010/08...roller-on.html

    but I got some updates regrettably now its back to no wired network I have tried doing the same procedure again and it still didnt work on Kernel Linux 2.6.32-28 generic but if I boot into the previous kernel Linux 2.6.32-21 generic it works well.



    *-network UNCLAIMED
    description: Network controller
    product: Broadcom Corporation
    vendor: Broadcom Corporation
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
    version: 01
    width: 64 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list
    configuration: latency=0
    resources: memory:f0500000-f0503fff
    *-network UNCLAIMED
    description: Ethernet controller
    product: AR8152 v1.1 Fast Ethernet
    vendor: Atheros Communications
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:04:00.0
    version: c1
    width: 64 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm msi pciexpress vpd bus_master cap_list
    configuration: latency=0

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    266
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Atheros AR8151 ethernet not working

    Quote Originally Posted by chili555 View Post
    The correct Makefile is in the directory above. I notice that untarring the tar.gz splatters stuff all over the /home directory; bad practice, in my opinion. Let's try this:
    Code:
    mkdir AR81Family
    mv AR81Family-Linux-v1.0.1.9.tar.gz AR81Family
    cd AR81Family
    tar zxvf AR81Family-Linux-v1.0.1.9.tar.gz
    sudo su
    make install
    modprobe atl1e
    exit
    As I said before, you must have build-essential installed.

    I downloaded later version. Works fine as per method above.
    Restarted comp and got the hardware address and eth is working.
    thanks.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    266
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Atheros AR8151 ethernet not working

    Quote Originally Posted by chili555 View Post
    The correct Makefile is in the directory above. I notice that untarring the tar.gz splatters stuff all over the /home directory; bad practice, in my opinion. Let's try this:
    Code:
    mkdir AR81Family
    mv AR81Family-Linux-v1.0.1.9.tar.gz AR81Family
    cd AR81Family
    tar zxvf AR81Family-Linux-v1.0.1.9.tar.gz
    sudo su
    make install
    modprobe atl1e
    exit
    As I said before, you must have build-essential installed.
    I did that too. Works fine. Have to repeat once update of the kernel happens.
    Thanks.

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •