Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: Huawei E160 with Lucid - still not working permanently

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Huawei E160 with Lucid - still not working permanently

    Hurrah. I made it!

    I had to edit the file /lib/udev/rules.d/61-option-modem-modeswitch.rules
    and added the line

    ATTRS{idVendor}=="12d1", ATTRS{idProduct}=="1003", RUN+="modem-modeswitch -v 0x%s{idVendor} -p 0x%s{idProduct} -t option-zerocd"

    After a reboot, the Huawei E160 worked perfectly!!!

    Thanks for your help. Think, you brought me to the right direction

    Regards
    nightwing

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    2,265

    Re: Huawei E160 with Lucid - still not working permanently

    so how did you get there? It seems a leap in the dark from prior moves;

    as I understand it, the udev rule just means the computer does it each time it boots up;

    interesting the E160 needs that; ironically, it worked perfectly well on older distros: eg ubuntu 8.04 etc

    (oh, and you may wish to edit the thread to say SOLVED ..............

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Huawei E160 with Lucid - still not working permanently

    Quote Originally Posted by night-wing View Post
    Hurrah. I made it!

    I had to edit the file /lib/udev/rules.d/61-option-modem-modeswitch.rules
    and added the line

    ATTRS{idVendor}=="12d1", ATTRS{idProduct}=="1003", RUN+="modem-modeswitch -v 0x%s{idVendor} -p 0x%s{idProduct} -t option-zerocd"

    After a reboot, the Huawei E160 worked perfectly!!!

    Thanks for your help. Think, you brought me to the right direction

    Regards
    nightwing
    Hi

    which version of usb_modeswitch are you using

    or have you recently updated your system

    thanks in advance

    alexfish
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Huawei E160 with Lucid - still not working permanently

    Marked as solved now

    usb_modeswitch: It's the most recent one from lucid (don't ask me what version).

    How did I get there?
    Ok. I thought, when the usb_delay did not make any difference, maybe one of the configuration files from the old releases (where the e160 worked - like in intrepid) is possibly different from the one in lucid.
    Because the usb_modeswitch.conf is not, it must be an udev rule.
    In intrepid (which is installed on my primary notebook), I saw, that the e160 has an entry
    in the /lib/udev/rules.d/61-option-modem-modeswitch.rules

    In lucid not...
    So I tried (trial and error of course) to put this line in the file in lucid too.
    Rebooted...
    and was happy
    Last edited by night-wing; May 8th, 2010 at 11:22 AM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Huawei E160 with Lucid - still not working permanently

    hi

    just for a bit of clarity

    from synaptic can you do a search "modeswitch"

    this will indicate the version and if the modeswitch-data is installed

    see below ,although , as you can see from my screen shot I don't have modeswitch installed'

    there may be an easier way than writing rules ; have a read here

    http://www.draisberghof.de/usb_modeswitch/
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Huawei E160 with Lucid - still not working permanently

    That's right of course.
    But I'm a little bit the "never touch a running system" - type
    So as long as it runs now, I would not make any new configuration.

    Thanks anyway.

    Regards
    nightwing

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Huawei E160 with Lucid - still not working permanently

    Quote Originally Posted by night-wing View Post
    that's right of course.
    But i'm a little bit the "never touch a running system" - type
    so as long as it runs now, i would not make any new configuration.

    Thanks anyway.

    Regards
    nightwing
    mmm!
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    4

    Re: Huawei E160 with Lucid - still not working permanently

    Thanks for the solution, seems to be working for me now too.

    To summarize what I did.
    I first (before thread solved) tried enabling the proposed updates and applied them all in case there was a fix in there, didnt fix it. I dont know if that had any effect on the final positive outcome? (try the edit first).

    edit file /lib/udev/rules.d/61-option-modem-modeswitch.rules

    add
    Code:
    ATTRS{idVendor}=="12d1", ATTRS{idProduct}=="1003", RUN+="modem-modeswitch -v 0x%s{idVendor} -p 0x%s{idProduct} -t option-zerocd"
    To the last line before the comments at the bottom. Save.

    Reboot. Works now.
    Or at least seems to, it would work on the rare occasion previously, it has successfully detected for 3 reboots and a couple of unplugs while logged in.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    4

    Re: Huawei E160 with Lucid - still not working permanently

    I had to join up just to say thanks for the fix here.

    I have a Huawei E160E which worked fine all the time I used Ubuntu 9. After doing a fresh install to 10 with all the updates etc it wouldn't even detect as modem.

    I added the line as previously instructed in this thread, rebooted and it works a treat again.

    Wonder why that line was taken out of the config file? It's not like it's old tech that hardly anyone uses.

    Cheers very much once again.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Huawei E160 with Lucid - still not working permanently

    Delving around in the back end of the system is not for the novice or a new comer to Linux
    the only way forward is for things to work without having to add rules via the terminal, hence the updated usb modeswitch should work without having to do any thing to the system.So it pays to keep the modeswitch up to date , also new devices are added , as and when details are found

    What is really strange is I have a E160 and works without any rules been added or usb modeswitch been installed , and this will take some beating ,it will even start up on boot , did not ask to .
    Last edited by alexfish; June 5th, 2010 at 08:19 PM. Reason: last line
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •