Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Command line for gnome sound preferences?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    20

    Command line for gnome sound preferences?

    Is there a way to control the gnome sound preferences widget via the command line? I use optical digital out (IEC958). It works fine. but everytime I reboot there is no sound, I have to go to sound preferences, hardware tab, select my internal audio device, change it from digital stereo duplex to analog surround 5.1, then back to digital stereo duplex, and then the sound works again. I would like to be able to do this via command line so I can write a little startup script and not have to do that every time i reboot. thankyou

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    33

    Re: Command line for gnome sound preferences?

    *bump*
    I've been looking for this too. I can use e.g. amixer from the command line to change volume etc of my devices, but how to I tell gnome which device to use?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Europe, I think...
    Beans
    16
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Command line for gnome sound preferences?

    Not sure if this can help but give it shot

    http://www.zolved.com/synapse/view_content/27985

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    33

    Re: Command line for gnome sound preferences?

    That seems to be exactly what I'm looking for, except that it won't work with Ubuntu 10.04....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    2

    Re: Command line for gnome sound preferences?

    gnome-volume-control

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: Command line for gnome sound preferences?

    i had to do exactly the same thing every time i logged on to get my mic working (change to mic 1 and change back to mic 2). after some research, here's the code:

    pacmd set-source-port 1 input-microphone-1
    sleep 0.1
    pacmd set-source-port 1 input-microphone-2
    echo "mic fixed"

    you can probably adopt this solution to your needs
    i put it among the startup applications, skype works like a charm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •