Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33

Thread: [10.04] Ubuntu freeze because of Firefox?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    1,173

    Re: [10.04] Ubuntu freeze because of Firefox?

    Quote Originally Posted by tomazi View Post
    I installed Ubuntu 10.04 and experience freezing a couple of minutes after Firefox is opened. Everything is freeze (keyboard, mouse) and the only solution is to reboot.
    You seem to have the "filesystem remounted readonly" problem that a lot of people have had in 9.10 and 10.04 - after rebooting you have "orphan cleanup on readonly fs" in dmesg, but no recovered files in lost&found.

    You could see which unresolved bugs you like out of:

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ux/+bug/515937
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ux/+bug/528981
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ux/+bug/568711

    (some older ones at http://www.iol.ie/~stuartneilson/Bootup_fsck.html)

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    12

    Re: [10.04] Ubuntu freeze because of Firefox?

    Thanks Stuart, I will have a look on that.

    Maybe also this link will be very valuable : https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Bugs/Lucidi8xxFreezes
    I will try the different workaround. I will let you know if it works.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    1,173

    Re: [10.04] Ubuntu freeze because of Firefox?

    Quote Originally Posted by tomazi View Post
    Maybe also this link will be very valuable : https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Bugs/Lucidi8xxFreezes
    I will try the different workaround. I will let you know if it works.
    I came to a similar conclusion myself today, and added "radeon.modeset=0" to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT in /etc/default/grub, after which I have not experienced a single freeze or failure to resume.

    In full:

    I had an error "[drm:rs400_gart_adjust_size] *ERROR* Forcing to 32M GART size (because of ASIC bug ?)" in dmesg, and this is cured by adding "radeon.modeset=0"" to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT and then running sudo update-grub2, as per https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ux/+bug/562843

    The symptoms look nothing like the Ubuntu 10.04 Release Notes "Working around bugs in the new kernel video architecture" (https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ux/+bug/533784 and https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ux/+bug/541501), but perhaps it is related.

    The option "nomodeset" may work for other hardware.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    2

    Re: [10.04] Ubuntu freeze because of Firefox?

    Just installed 10.04, and I have this problem too. Using Chrome, it still froze. No keyboard, no mouse.
    I wonder if this is related to ATI video cards?
    Even the live CD froze on me.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    12

    Re: [10.04] Ubuntu freeze because of Firefox?

    My video card is also an ATI (Radeon 9100):

    tom@desktop:~$ lspci -nn | grep VGA
    01:05.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon 9100 IGP [1002:5834]

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    12

    Re: [10.04] Ubuntu freeze because of Firefox?

    Here is my report so far on https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Bugs/Lucidi8xxFreezes :
    - tried workaround A, no effect (still freeze)
    - tried workaround B, error message "VESA: kernel modesetting driver in use, refusing to load"
    - tried workaround F, same error message "VESA: kernel modesetting driver in use, refusing to load"

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    8

    Re: [10.04] Ubuntu freeze because of Firefox?

    I had no freeze since I installed the privative FGLRX graphic controller. Works for "ATI Tecnologies Inc RV710 [Radeon HD 4350]".

    I suspect the problem is the Adobe Flash Plugin.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    1,173

    Re: [10.04] Ubuntu freeze because of Firefox?

    Quote Originally Posted by tomazi View Post
    Here is my report so far
    Has anyone tried "radeon.modeset=0" or "nomodeset"?

    As I said in post #13, it seems to be working for me so far.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    12

    Re: [10.04] Ubuntu freeze because of Firefox?

    Quote Originally Posted by StuartN View Post
    Has anyone tried "radeon.modeset=0" or "nomodeset"?

    As I said in post #13, it seems to be working for me so far.
    Hi Stuart,

    I'm currently trying this since a couple of hours and so far, everything is ok ... but wait & see, I've already had much bad surprises!

    /etc/default/grub
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash radeon.modeset=0"

    Thanks for your inputs and ... let's cross fingers
    Last edited by tomazi; May 6th, 2010 at 05:44 PM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    12

    Angry Re: [10.04] Ubuntu freeze because of Firefox?

    I was right to be suspicious: again a freeze
    I really begin to think that Ubuntu 10.04 is just not compatible with my desktop

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •