Page 62 of 112 FirstFirst ... 1252606162636472 ... LastLast
Results 611 to 620 of 1117

Thread: Ubuntu on Eee PC T101MT

  1. #611
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    2

    Re: Ubuntu on Eee PC T101MT

    I have installed Okular, as Evince has no means to scroll a pdf by clicking and dragging the mouse (so that I can touch the screen and scroll when i move the finger). Okular has that fearture, but it does not resize correclty when the screen is rotated.

    I rotate the screen, so that it is in vertical format. Then I try to maximze the okular window. But okular does not recognize the new screen size. The okular window behaves as if the screen were in horzontal format.

    Any ideas to overcome that?

    thanx nebenmir

  2. #612
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    7

    Re: Ubuntu on Eee PC T101MT

    @nebenmir: have you tried Foxit reader? It works with the one touch hand tool, also screen rotates fine with it, it also allows continuous scroll and full-screen mode.
    http://www.foxitsoftware.com/pdf/desklinux/

    Also, for anyone interested, I've found this extremely helpful in that now I can do a quick keyboard combo and have my screen scale 1024x768 whenever a window is to big to let me see the buttons or hidden info below the bottom screen line. And then I can just hit the same combo and put it back!

    -Mike

  3. #613
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    I'm lost ... HELP!
    Beans
    1,014
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Ubuntu on Eee PC T101MT

    Quote Originally Posted by mikshepard View Post
    ...

    Also, for anyone interested, I've found this extremely helpful in that now I can do a quick keyboard combo and have my screen scale 1024x768 whenever a window is to big to let me see the buttons or hidden info below the bottom screen line. And then I can just hit the same combo and put it back!

    -Mike
    Thanks for pointing that out. I'll probably still "hold Alt+drag" if it's just to get the Close button on my screen. But it's still good to have this script in my scriptbox, sometimes programs just insist on using more space.

    I just tried
    Code:
    xrandr --output LVDS1 --scale 2.0x2.0
    2048 x 1200 on a netbook

    I adapted the script a little so it switches to 1280x768 and back and (if run in a terminal) puts out the new resolution.
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    if xrandr | head -n1 | grep -q '1024 x 600'; then
      xrandr --output LVDS1 --scale 1.25x1.28
    else
      xrandr --output LVDS1 --scale 1.0x1.0
    fi
    
    xrandr | head -n1
    
    exit

  4. #614
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    56

    Re: Ubuntu on Eee PC T101MT

    Hmm, I tried this, but still got the same error message:

    /usr/sbin/grub-probe: error: /boot/grub/device.map:3: No open parenthesis found.

    Quote Originally Posted by miegiel View Post
    Try
    Code:
    sudo grub-install /dev/sda
    (assuming you want grub to use the MBR of your 1st harddrive)

    And next do
    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    again

  5. #615
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    7

    Re: Ubuntu on Eee PC T101MT

    I've been searching through the forums to try to understand how to get the rotate button working, when I type acpi_listen I get

    Code:
    PNP0C14:00 000000d2 00000000
    PNP0C14:00 000000d2 00000000
    I tried using this but it's not displaying the right code and I have no clue what that means. Ubuntu shows the correct one but not squeeze. I've searched google and only found three posts related to this for some other tablet pc. Any ideas? I've been pulling my hair out on this all day..

    Thanks
    -Mike

  6. #616
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    I'm lost ... HELP!
    Beans
    1,014
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Ubuntu on Eee PC T101MT

    Quote Originally Posted by tlimsisnw View Post
    Hmm, I tried this, but still got the same error message:

    /usr/sbin/grub-probe: error: /boot/grub/device.map:3: No open parenthesis found.
    I searched wikipedia to figure out what exactly parenthesis means. It's got to do with bracketing As, for example, (hd0) /dev/sda missing the opening bracket when grub-probe calls /boot/grub/device.map.

    Now, I don't have a file called device.map in /boot/grub/. But it seems it's created by grub-mkdevicemap when installing/configuring grub2 (and deleted when done?).

    Give this a shot:
    Code:
    grub-mkdevicemap --help

    And if you're brave enough:
    Code:
    sudo grub-mkdevicemap
    sudo grub-install /dev/sda
    sudo update-grub

  7. #617
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    2

    Re: Ubuntu on Eee PC T101MT

    @mikshepard thanx for the hint with foxit. I have already tried that. currently i use adobe-reader (which also does the mouse scrolling). But I would like to use something more open like okular or evince.

  8. #618
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    43

    Re: Ubuntu on Eee PC T101MT

    Dear all,

    I reinstalled Ubuntu 10.10 on my machine and almost everything seems to work fine. Here are a few problems that I have:

    1)Express Gate button: I'm unable to get the express gate button working. When I run xev, it does not give me any output for the expressgate button.

    2)Twofing: When I run twofing, I can't perform any gestures. The touchscreen still behaves as if it is single touch. Worse still, tap on the screen loses the left click effect. When I kill twofing, the tap to click effect works fine.

    Any ideas for these would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

  9. #619
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    in front of a computer
    Beans
    252
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Ubuntu on Eee PC T101MT

    do you have AsusTek, Inc. MultiTouch(YFO) device in lsusb?

  10. #620
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    43

    Red face Re: Ubuntu on Eee PC T101MT

    Quote Originally Posted by Naitsirhc Hsem View Post
    do you have AsusTek, Inc. MultiTouch(YFO) device in lsusb?
    No I do not

    Code:
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 002: ID 0eef:480d D-WAV Scientific Co., Ltd 
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 13d3:5111 IMC Networks Integrated Webcam
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    What is it required for? Twofing or expressgate button?

    Thanks
    Last edited by toylas; November 25th, 2010 at 03:08 AM. Reason: hasty submit

Page 62 of 112 FirstFirst ... 1252606162636472 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •