Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Got compaq presario 5000?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    I.E socal
    Beans
    428
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Got compaq presario 5000?

    Does anyone here have a presario 5000 series with a UWAVE MObo?
    Just wanted to know what u have on it. I want to upgrade my video card to an HD video card.
    can i go AGP 8x?
    is there a command to find out more details on my agp video card?

    Currently have AMD 1.1ghz maxed out for uwave mobo (can i overclock?)
    768 sdram maxed out uwave mobo
    32MB nvidia card i think it's AGP 4x 100/200 geforce
    5400rpm 30gb ide hard drive (7200rpm 30gb is on the way)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The United States
    Beans
    518

    Re: Got compaq presario 5000?

    Quote Originally Posted by soryu View Post
    is there a command to find out more details on my agp video card?
    glxinfo and lspci
    Desktop 1: Asus A8N-E | AMD Athlon +3200 | 2 GB Ram | Geforce 8500 | Windows XP
    Desktop 2: Soyo-KT600 | AMD Athlon +2600 | 768 MB Ram | Geforce 5200 | Ubuntu 10.04
    Netbook: Asus 1001P, Arch Linux

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    I.E socal
    Beans
    428
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Got compaq presario 5000?

    thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Got compaq presario 5000?

    It wouldn't be worth it to upgrade the video card. AGP is pretty much dead in that most of the AGP cards out there are PCIe with a chip that makes it able to run on the AGP bus.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The United States
    Beans
    518

    Re: Got compaq presario 5000?

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesA View Post
    It wouldn't be worth it to upgrade the video card. AGP is pretty much dead in that most of the AGP cards out there are PCIe with a chip that makes it able to run on the AGP bus.
    +1

    I think it would be cheaper in the long run to save up and buy a whole new computer than to upgrade one component.
    Desktop 1: Asus A8N-E | AMD Athlon +3200 | 2 GB Ram | Geforce 8500 | Windows XP
    Desktop 2: Soyo-KT600 | AMD Athlon +2600 | 768 MB Ram | Geforce 5200 | Ubuntu 10.04
    Netbook: Asus 1001P, Arch Linux

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    I.E socal
    Beans
    428
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Got compaq presario 5000?

    i think my mobo has an empty pci slot
    hopefully ill be able to throw pci video card in there.
    ill check it out.

    any sites out there with mobo specs? (info)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Got compaq presario 5000?

    Best bet would be to look up the specs on the compaq site.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •