Thread: Dual monitors partially working

Beans

Unhappy Dual monitors partially working

Im fairly new to linux and have tried all that i can think of at this point. Hopefully i provided enough details and someone out there knowns whats going on

I have intel onboard video and an pci-e ati x300 card. With my onboard video controller set as the primary graphics device in bios(yes the pci-e is still enabled but is just not set as the primary controller), I did a clean installation of ubuntu 9.10 and ubuntu seems to only detect one monitor. I goto system>prefs>display and there is only 1 display listed.

I then returned to bios and switched the primary graphics controller to my pci-e card and then booted into ubuntu. I still only have on monitor but now the pci-e is working and the onboard is not. I still only have one display in system>prefs>display

A quick peek at /var/log/Xorg.0.log shows that both controllers seem to be being detected as far as i know:
    (--) PCI:*(0:0:2:0) 8086:29c2:1458:d000 Intel Corporation 82G33/G31 Express Integrated Graphics Controller rev 16, Mem @ 0xeb200000/524288, 0xd0000000/268435456, 0xeb000000/1048576, I/O @ 0x0000e000/8
    (--) PCI: (0:1:0:0) 1002:5b60:174b:0500 ATI Technologies Inc RV370 5B60 [Radeon X300 (PCIE)] rev 0, Mem @ 0xe0000000/134217728, 0xe9000000/65536, I/O @ 0x0000c000/256, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072