Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: xterm?? it shows up in choice up sessions UNR

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    54
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Question xterm?? it shows up in choice up sessions UNR

    i just removed xfce from synaptic and it worked perfectly but now "xterm" shows up in list of sessions, along with GNOME and failsafeGNOME. What is xterm?! Why did it appear after I removed xubuntu?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Beans
    5,638
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: xterm?? it shows up in choice up sessions UNR

    I think it's just a terminal emulator for Xubuntu. (Just like Accessories > Terminal in UNR.)

    Not sure why it didn't un-install when you removed xubuntu.
    To err is human, to forgive is very ... dog-like.

    Thomas Aaron
    FetchMasters, LLC

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    7,749

    Re: xterm?? it shows up in choice up sessions UNR

    xterm is the X windows system terminal. It has nothing to do with Xubuntu.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Conn., United States
    Beans
    1,644

    Re: xterm?? it shows up in choice up sessions UNR

    Quote Originally Posted by black_ice=cream View Post
    What is xterm?! Why did it appear after I removed xubuntu?
    Try this: http://www.google.com/search?q=xterm...ient=firefox-a

    Also, I have always had an xterm option in the session menu and I've never installed xubuntu. I double checked before posting this, and lo and behold, there it was as one of the options -- and I've only ever had straight Ubuntu on this computer. My guess is that you only noticed it after trying Xubuntu.
    "When you dual-boot Windows, Windows exists along side of Linux. When you use VirtualBox, Windows exists at the pleasure of Linux." -- ThomasAaron @ System76

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    54
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: xterm?? it shows up in choice up sessions UNR

    would it just be a CLI if I booted into it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Aurora, CO
    Beans
    2,564
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: xterm?? it shows up in choice up sessions UNR

    I believe that the ubuntu-desktop package depends on xterm. Ditto for the UNR desktop package.

    EDIT: Confirmed. running:
    Code:
    sudo apt-cache depends ubuntu-desktop | grep xterm
    returns:
    Code:
    Depends: xterm
    Same for package ubuntu-netbook-remix.


    Quote Originally Posted by black_ice=cream View Post
    would it just be a CLI if I booted into it?
    No. If you log in to an xterm session from GDM, it will start a basic graphical session (without gnome) and open xterm in a window. (Try pressing alt-f2 and running "xterm").

    You can use a CLI by pressing Ctrl-Alt-F1 at any time. You can get back to GNOME with Ctrl-Alt-F7.
    Last edited by isantop; March 23rd, 2010 at 03:31 AM.
    Ian Santopietro - System76 Technical Support.
    Open a Support Ticket!
    Ask a Sales Question!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •