Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with installing: Songbird, Thunderbird and Aptana Studio

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Help with installing: Songbird, Thunderbird and Aptana Studio

First off I'd like to apologize if this is the wrong section of the forum, if it is in the wrong place would a moderator be so kind as to move it to the right place. Secondly I'm very new to Linux so my knowledge is quite limited. Now onto the problems at hand, I'll give you the versions of each program I suppose and then it might be easier to help me.

Songbird: Version = 1.4.3 | BuildID = 1438
    Thunderbird: Version = 3.0.3 | BuildID = 20100227141902
    Aptana Studio 2: Version = 2.0.4.1268158907 | BuildID = 1268158907

Right so the problem's I'm having:

Songbird: (Fixed)
    I downloaded it off the songbird website, extracted it when it finished but could not find details on how to install it. Now it does work, all i have to do is go to the containing folder and run the file labeled "songbird" it does not have a .txt or anything after its name. When I click run or run in terminal it starts up and works fine BUT it is not in the "Applications" tab.

Thunderbird: (Fixed)
    This is exactly the same as the problem I'm having with Songbird so perhaps the fix is similar?

Aptana Studio
    I downloaded this program as I was interested in polishing up my web designing skills after a quick 1 year course on it last year in school. This was the first Macromedia Dreamweaver 8 like program that I found so I thought why not. Dreamweaver 8 is what I was using in school. If you can recommend another program that'd be great but otherwise help installing would be nice. Now as I said I downloaded it. Extracted the files and looked for the README which as with another program told me how to install said program. I cant find it and none of the other files in the folder mention how to install it.

So those are my problems. If you need any more information do ask.