Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33

Thread: Use default domain with likewise-open 5.4

  1. #21
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    144

    Re: Use default domain with likewise-open 5.4

    You are not using the same likewise update as those who have the default domain login working.

    The versions that are reported above to work are:

    (1) likewise-open_5.4.0.42111-3~ppa4~lucid_i386.deb

    (2) The package from the likewise-open-ppa repository: 5.4.0.42111-3~ppa5~lucid

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Earth
    Beans
    42
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Use default domain with likewise-open 5.4

    Ohhh! I thought I downloaded the latest! could you provide me with the latest .deb package to download many thanks!

  3. #23
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    144

    Re: Use default domain with likewise-open 5.4

    I updated by adding the ppa that I mentioned in a detailed post on page two:

    https://launchpad.net/~likewise-open...s_filter=lucid

    I don't know where to download the deb directly.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Earth
    Beans
    42
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Use default domain with likewise-open 5.4

    Thank you it worked like a champ!

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Beans
    69
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Question Re: Use default domain with likewise-open 5.4

    Quote Originally Posted by LebLinux View Post
    Thank you it worked like a champ!
    which one is working mate ?

    I got the error like the following:

    Code:
    root@ISUZU:~# add-apt-repository ppa:likewise-open/likewise-open-ppa
    Error reading https://launchpad.net/api/1.0/~likewise-open/+archive/likewise-open-ppa: <urlopen error [Errno 110] Connection timed out>
    
    root@ISUZU:~#

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Use default domain with likewise-open 5.4

    You know that Likewise is shipping 6.0 now from their website. www.likewise.com/download

    This version is much farther ahead of the version in the distro, but it's still fully open-source. Getting updates into packages in the main distro can be really slow so you might want to consider using the newest one on their site.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!
    duplicate
    Last edited by atworkwithjf; January 14th, 2011 at 11:17 PM.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Use default domain with likewise-open 5.4

    Hello,

    I am using likewise open version6.1.0.406 - and I still can't use a default domain to login, I always have to add yourdomain before username.

    I don't have any of the files/directories mentioned here.

    To complete the picture above, the procedure I used to install and add the computer to the domain is this one: https://help.ubuntu.com/10.04/server...wise-open.html
    But I am reading now on likewise.com several things that I should have that I simply dont. For example:
    the /opt is empty, there is no lwconfig there, no nothing, not even the domainjoin-gui.
    Everything is working fine, except I dont have any of these files that I should have and therefore I cant even try to make the assumedefaultdomainwork.
    Any ideas?



    Thanks in advance,

    linux.girl
    Last edited by linux.girl; February 8th, 2012 at 08:01 PM.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    144

    Re: Use default domain with likewise-open 5.4

    The newest version of likewise has a checkbox that allows you to make the domain the default. You shouldn't need the instructions in this thread anymore.




    Check the box and enter the proper prefix for your domain.

    If you're not getting this checkbox by installing from the Ubuntu repository, try removing likewise and installing the version from beyondtrust.com

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Use default domain with likewise-open 5.4

    Hi there,

    Thanks for the answer

    Yes, I did install it from the ubuntu repository and did not get a gui like the one you are showing.

    I will try to follow your suggestion and let you know how it goes.



    linux.girl

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •