Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: command on startup - good or bad?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

command on startup - good or bad?

Hi all,

Relative newbie here - seeking advice on having a command run on start-up. Specifically, I want to have a chgrp and chown execute on a specific directory, subdirectory and associated files. Is there any reason why this would be a really dumb idea?

I'm not looking for advice on how to do it (I'd like to muddle through it on my own - I learn better). And, I'm not looking for alternatives... yet... unless it looks like it's a really dumb idea.

Background - I think this is the easiest way for me to have two users on the same PC upload photos that each user can have full access to, and do things like back-up etc.

Thoughts?

Much appreciated,
    Ian
    Learning Linux, one mistake at a time

Beans

Re: command on startup - good or bad?

I've never tried it myself, but you could turn on Access Control Lists (ACL) for your filesystem, then set the permissions of the directory so both users can access with same access rights.

A good graphically editor for ACLs is eiciel.

Regards
    Iain

Beans
    Hidden!

Not much specific information there, but if it's a case of two different users needing read/write access to a directory or partition, you can do that from the folder properties.

My wife and I both have read/write access to a separate partition where our photos are stored.
    Open Nautlius as root (graphical)
    Code:
    gksu nautilus
    Navigate to the directory in question, right click and choose properties. then permissions. If you allow members of the group "users" read/write access that means you will both be able to upload, backup and do whatever you need.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

It doesn't have to be that complicated...

Linux does not adhere to an inherited permissions model, and the true irony is that