Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 56

Thread: My Ubuntu CAD station

  1. #41
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Reno,NV
    Beans
    150

    Re: My Ubuntu NX4 station

    Quote Originally Posted by scott stanley View Post
    Hope this thread gets noticed, been dead a while. I saw a screenshot of NX4 running on ubuntu posted by one "whiprush". The guy's like a phantom; google hits up the wazoo but never a point of contact.

    Anyway, does anyone know how to install NX4 on ubuntu?
    I know whiprush personally (awesome guy), if you need to contact him PM me and I'll give you his address.

    -LaserJock
    "That's all very well in practice, but will it ever work in theory?" -- G. Hill
    "A tidy laboratory means a lazy chemist." -- Jöns Jacob Berzelius

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    3

    Lightbulb Re: My Ubuntu CAD station

    Hi, I have installed with success Autocad R14 in Ubuntu 7.04-Feisty,
    with the Wine Emulator.
    I have tried other variants, there are with "i"-from internet suffixes, but they didn't work at all.
    I haven't a variant of Autocad 2k, not Autocad 2000i, to try.
    It seems it works, too.
    I have installed the DWG TrueConvert with Crossover and I am converting the drawings to R14...........
    It the best I could do.
    I wish you for you all the Ubuntu enthusiasts all my best wishes!!!

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: My Ubuntu CAD station

    Quote Originally Posted by Efrain Valles View Post
    is there an app for viewing DWG files...???
    I have installed qcad but id only works with dxf files... and I need to only view DWG
    Re : DWG Viewer
    you should try this:
    http://ftp.varicad.com/pub/VariCAD/l....03-1_i386.deb
    hope this help

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    2

    Thumbs down Re: My Ubuntu CAD station

    actually it is possible to get Autocad R14 (it pre dates .net framework) to run on linux

    http://architectafrica.com/bin0/news200411111_wine.html

    R14 can do most of what the newer versions can without all the bloatware added

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
    Beans
    2,764
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: My Ubuntu CAD station

    R14 works fine in wine except it does not have orbit.
    Recall there were some 2nd party orbit plugins available for it though

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    2

    Exclamation Re: My Ubuntu CAD station

    i tried autocad 2009 for windows.......man is it bloated... it takes ages even on a good rig to load... i got
    windows xp pro sp3(had mce 2005 but its useless in ireland - no decent DVB-T service yet)/ubuntu 8.04 amd64 dual boot,
    AMD Athlon x2 6000+ @ 3.0ghz,
    Asus M2N E -SLI motherboard
    4gb Corsair XMS 2 DDR PC6400 ram (4x 1024mb)
    512mb XFX nVidia geforce 8500gt pci-e x16 video
    Hauppauge HVR 1300mce Tv Tuner
    500gb SATA2 Western Digital Hard drive
    500gb USB2 Western Digital Hard drive
    16x Toshiba Dual layer DVD/R/RW/RAM drive

    (i had Vista Home Premium x64 SP1 but file transfers were so slow & unreliable [7-10 kb/s YES 7-10kb/s file transfer speeds on a SATA2 drive] i fdisked the pc and put back on xp sp3)

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: My Ubuntu CAD station

    I'm running 8.04, and decided to install WINE today. I have a copy of IntellicadCMS that installed fine, and works. IntelliCADcms is not free, but it opens 98% of Autocad drawings.

    http://www.intellicadms.com

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    729

    Re: My Ubuntu CAD station

    Hi,

    I was using an ancient version (1996/7) of TurboCad and TurboCad 3d in connection with FloorPlan 3D which I bought in those days. It was still working fine in XP.

    Anything you can recommend for furniture construction? 2D would be fine for the moment - if 3D as well I take it as a bonus.

    Greetings

    longtom

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    1
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: My Ubuntu CAD station

    or you could just install WINE and run windows programs

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    41
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: My Ubuntu CAD station

    I do architectural drafting for a manufactured housing company. At work, we use AutoCAD (Windows).

    I'm thinking about switching my home OS over completely to Ubuntu.

    I went from an office that used AutoCAD 2006 to one using 2009. (I can't tell any difference except the silly "ribbon" that we do not use anyway.) I would not want to return to pre-2006 autocad because I like the dynamic blocks feature.

    Have not yet tried Wine (only been on Ubuntu for a few days) is it fairly straightforward to install and use?

    If I were to use wine to run Autocad..what is the procedure? Install Wine and then pop in the AutoCad startup disk and see what happens?

    Will macros I've written in VBA and LISP run normally?

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •