Thread: SSH login rather slow

Beans

SSH login rather slow

I apologize in advance that this problem is going to seem rather vague because I do not know what's going on. Moreover, I'm still a newbie using Ubuntu, so I would appreciate very detailed instructions rather than vague suggestions that would be helpful to someone who wasn't as dumb as me.

I have several computers at my home: a laptop running Ubuntu 9.04, a desktop running 9.04 and a server running Ubuntu 9.10 server edition. At home, the Internet comes to the modem and then to the wireless router (D-Link DIR-655), which then has a wire going upstairs to a switch (Netgear GS108 ) that then connects to the desktop and server. The laptop sometimes it connected directly to the router via ethernet cable, or in the switch, or connecting wirelessly.

I noticed that anytime that I ssh between these various three machines in all the laptop's network configurations, there seems to be a delay between typing in ssh 192.168.1.x and being prompted for my password (or just logging in when using the key-based authentication). The delay is about 7-10 seconds. Not impossible to deal with, but annoying.

However, if I use other services on the computers (web (80), tranmission (9091)), the results are nearly instanteous. Moreover, since my router has port forwarding set up for some of the ports, when I'm outside of my home and ssh using the external IP address, it is also instanteous. Even if I'm at home and ssh via the external IP address, it's still pretty fast (<1 second).

This has always been a problem, so it's not like it was working when I first installed the operating systems and then stopped, I've just dealt with it.

So I'm asking if anyone has any ideas as to what could be causing these issues and what I could do to try to fix this?

Thank you.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Re: SSH login rather slow