Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Simple Network Question (or divorce proceedings)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Angry Simple Network Question (or divorce proceedings)

    hello, I'm a linux novice .... I've had terrible problems with a second ethernet connection. I have a supermicro mb with 2x gigabit (motherboard) connections. eth0 boots ok and I want eth1 to connect to a separate storage network (drobopro).

    /etc/network/interfaces is as follows:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    # The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp

    # The secondary network interface
    iface eth1 inet static
    address 192.168.2.81
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    auto eth1
    on boot, only eth0 starts but if I force a start thus:
    sudo ifconfig eth1 192.168.2.81 up
    the nic gets the message.

    How do I get eth1 to start on boot?

    I've spent three days with this and my wife's not impressed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Morrisville, NY
    Beans
    2,149

    Re: Simple Network Question (or divorce proceedings)

    Quote Originally Posted by mebunto View Post
    on boot, only eth0 starts but if I force a start thus:
    sudo ifconfig eth1 192.168.2.81 up
    the nic gets the message.
    I don't understand what this phrase means. In any event, the only thing I can think of is you may need to define a gateway - a default address to route out all requests. I used this tutorial as a guide.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Simple Network Question (or divorce proceedings)

    Hopefully the DHCP address (eth0) is in a different subnet.
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Simple Network Question (or divorce proceedings)

    Quote Originally Posted by strAlan View Post
    I don't understand what this phrase means. In any event, the only thing I can think of is you may need to define a gateway - a default address to route out all requests. I used this tutorial as a guide.
    strAlan OK - I mean that eth1 acquires its ethernet address as set.

    eth0 has an address of 192.168.0.10 subnet mask is 255.255.255.0

    I have found many postings on this kind of issue but it seems that none of the answers cure my problem.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    5

    Re: Simple Network Question (or divorce proceedings)

    You don't say what version of Ubuntu you are running.

    I would remove any configuration for the hardware NICs from /etc/network/interfaces and configure them through NetworkManager on the toolbar.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Simple Network Question (or divorce proceedings)

    jimshawnz, thank you. I'm using Ubuntu Server 9.10 Karmic Koala so network manager isn't supposed to be used and isn't a menu option.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Simple Network Question (or divorce proceedings)

    Can anyone else help? (please!)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kitakyushu Japan
    Beans
    9,361
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Simple Network Question (or divorce proceedings)

    Quote Originally Posted by mebunto View Post
    jimshawnz, thank you. I'm using Ubuntu Server 9.10 Karmic Koala so network manager isn't supposed to be used and isn't a menu option.
    Have you installed any of the desktop metapackages like ubuntu-desktop, or is your server CLI only?

    Also, when you turn on the server, is there an active ethernet connection? I have noticed that adaptors do not want to come up unless they are connected to a switch, or other live connection.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Simple Network Question (or divorce proceedings)

    Dmizer - yes I have installed Ubuntu desktop and also winadmin. You may have a point about the network connection, my next step will be to configure a switch so that the second network is always connected to something as at the moment it's not connected.
    Thanks very much. I'll post this evening and let you know how I've done.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    23,099
    Distro
    Ubuntu 17.04 Zesty Zapus

    Re: Simple Network Question (or divorce proceedings)

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    # The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp

    # The secondary network interface
    iface eth1 inet static
    address 192.168.2.81
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    auto eth1
    Please try it like this:
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    # The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    
    # The secondary network interface
    auto eth1
    iface eth1 inet static
    address 192.168.2.81
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.2.1
    Thanks.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •