Thread: Trendnet TEW-645UB usb wireless card not supported?

Hybrid View

Beans

Trendnet TEW-645UB usb wireless card not supported?

New to Ubuntu and trying to get my wireless capabilities up and running. I didnt find my TEW-645UB usb wireless adapter on the list of supported ones, so I guess there is no way for me to get online with my desktop.

Also have a Sony Vaio laptop with an Intel Pro/Wireless 3945ABG card that i believe is supported. What are the basic steps to getting online with Ubuntu. I will search the forums but i would also appreciate any help as I am new to linux.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Trendnet TEW-645UB usb wireless card not supported?

New to Ubuntu and trying to get my wireless capabilities up and running. I didnt find my TEW-645UB usb wireless adapter on the list of supported ones, so I guess there is no way for me to get online with my desktop.
    Au contraire, mon frere!

I believe it has the rt2870 chipset. Please open a terminal and do:
    Code:
    lsusb
    Compare the device ID to the ones listed here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1342593

If it matches, please do:
    Code:
    sudo modprobe rt2870sta
    Does your wireless come to life?
    Also have a Sony Vaio laptop with an Intel Pro/Wireless 3945ABG card that i believe is supported. What are the basic steps to getting online with Ubuntu.
    Make sure the wireless switch is on and click the Network Manager icon, see your network, supply any WEP, WPA, etc. passwords and connect.

Post back if it's not quite that easy!!
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D.

Beans

When I lsusb on my desktop I get 157e:3013 The only one close to that on the supported list says 157e:300e I think. Is this close enough?

On my laptop I am using Backtrack 4, and the network manager icon is Wicd Network Manager, but when I click this nothing happens...

Beans
    Distro