Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: I want to be able to change my hostname on IRC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    349

    I want to be able to change my hostname on IRC

    I've googled for BNCs, Vhosts, all that yadda... I don't really understand it. Is there anyway to easily change my hostname on IRC?

    (Using Xchat on Windows)
    Are you a trumpet player?
    'On vacation for the week. In Yosemite National Park. A sign on the road said, “Speeding kills bears.” And all I can think is, “Who let them drive in the first place?"' -Stephan Pastis

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Beans
    193
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: I want to be able to change my hostname on IRC

    No, not really (as far as I know). You need to get a cloak generally, and that's network dependent. You should probably ask in the support channel for whatever network you're on.
    I am currently unable to come up with a witty statement to put in my signature. Please check back later.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    349

    Re: I want to be able to change my hostname on IRC

    I registered a hostname under DynDNS, now I just have to find a bouncer for windows that actually works and isn't insanely confusing.

    Thanks for the advice, but I'd rather have it changed then cloaked. My network also doesn't support vhosts.
    Are you a trumpet player?
    'On vacation for the week. In Yosemite National Park. A sign on the road said, “Speeding kills bears.” And all I can think is, “Who let them drive in the first place?"' -Stephan Pastis

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    2,417

    Re: I want to be able to change my hostname on IRC

    you could always just make a new one.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Edubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: I want to be able to change my hostname on IRC

    You can also rent a shell host, they are cheap, about £3 per month for a basic IRC bouncer. I use ZNC, not sure if it work on windows.
    You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    349

    Re: I want to be able to change my hostname on IRC

    Quote Originally Posted by ubuntuman001 View Post
    you could always just make a new one.
    I don't understand. I am trying to make a new hostname.
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOK View Post
    You can also rent a shell host, they are cheap, about £3 per month for a basic IRC bouncer. I use ZNC, not sure if it work on windows.
    Is a shell host required? Does there happen to be any way to get a free one?
    Are you a trumpet player?
    'On vacation for the week. In Yosemite National Park. A sign on the road said, “Speeding kills bears.” And all I can think is, “Who let them drive in the first place?"' -Stephan Pastis

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: I want to be able to change my hostname on IRC

    Your hostname is where you connection is coming from, you can only have a different one by proxying with a bouncer or shell account. I'm not aware of any free providers.

    You do mean hostname, not user name, right?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    349

    Re: I want to be able to change my hostname on IRC

    Quote Originally Posted by Grenage View Post
    Your hostname is where you connection is coming from, you can only have a different one by proxying with a bouncer or shell account. I'm not aware of any free providers.

    You do mean hostname, not user name, right?
    Yes. For example, this is one I saw.

    Person has connected (~Person@SHAM.WOW)

    Something like that.. Just my own personal hostname like that SHAM.WOW one. Did he have to pay to do that?
    Are you a trumpet player?
    'On vacation for the week. In Yosemite National Park. A sign on the road said, “Speeding kills bears.” And all I can think is, “Who let them drive in the first place?"' -Stephan Pastis

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Edubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: I want to be able to change my hostname on IRC

    Quote Originally Posted by CJ Master View Post
    Yes. For example, this is one I saw.

    Person has connected (~Person@SHAM.WOW)

    Something like that.. Just my own personal hostname like that SHAM.WOW one. Did he have to pay to do that?
    Depends, some IRC networks offer a Vhost service (free). If your ISP allows, you can sometimes set a reverse DNS, I doubt you can do this however. The other option is to rent a shell and use a bouncer. I don't know of any free services. Make sure if you do rent one, it allows you to set a custom hostname (rDNS).
    You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    349

    Re: I want to be able to change my hostname on IRC

    I found a free shell account hosting service on SDF. How do I set rDNS? And after that, how do I use a bouncer on it?
    Are you a trumpet player?
    'On vacation for the week. In Yosemite National Park. A sign on the road said, “Speeding kills bears.” And all I can think is, “Who let them drive in the first place?"' -Stephan Pastis

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •